Beginners Guide to Understand Good Coffee

Sidqi Hatake
3 min readJun 16, 2023

--

I didn’t really like coffee at first. But then, now I like it very much and keep exploring and understanding about good coffee and all the flavors.

I know.

What happened to me, right?

The journey, I mean, my journey (Lol)

Espresso, source : Specialty Coffee Association
Espresso, source : Specialty Coffee Association

Everyone should start as a beginner in this journey. The beginners usually get coffee from any drink or even food that has coffee flavor in it.

But coffee flavor in any drink or food is dominantly just the aroma. It barely even tastes like coffee.

Then it continues to instant coffee. Instant coffee has its flavor but sometimes not a real flavor. It’s artificial and then sweetness from sugar.

Nothing wrong with it. It helps everyone to finally meet coffee. It’s for beginners in a general way.

Drip Brewing Method, source European Coffee Trip
Drip Brewing Method, source European Coffee Trip

In my personal experience, I found that coffee could help me to suppress my hunger for my diet. It turns out to be proven by scientific perspective.

But before, I didn’t have any courage to taste coffee because of the bitterness.

Since my diet consists of less sugar and less oil, from time to time I begin to have an ability to handle bitterness from any food and drink.

Moreover, the caffeine would result in an energy boost to my body when I don’t consume much food.

This ability to handle bitterness finally helped me to meet the best flavor of coffee in my life.

Health Benefit of Coffee (Black), source Healthify Me
Health Benefit of Coffee (Black), source Healthify Me

The Flavor

When it comes to dark and bitter, then it is called coffee in general terms, it’s not represent the flavor of coffee at all. It’s just the body. It is the taste from the old times when producers have not found a way to release coffee flavor yet.

When it is roasted to its profile and then brewed the right way, coffee will give a more interesting sensation, mouthfeel and aroma. That’s why coffee is now fruity or earthy or spicy and or any other flavor.

How to brew

If you fail to brew, you fail to feel the flavor. How is that not a quotable sentence? Lol

Basic Coffee Species Knowledge, source Coffee for Me

It means, brewing method is the way to maximize the taste of coffee from its flavor. So, for any Indonesian, tubruk is not the only way to brew coffee, even if it would be more simple and unique.

Espresso brewing is sometimes too harsh for any coffee beginner out there. The other method that would be comfortable for beginners is drip or filter.

Since it’s for beginners, feel free to speak to a barista from any coffee shop you will visit.

Instant vs Specialty

To train your palate for good coffee or even great one, you might wanna choose the specialty. Since instant coffee would give so much body compared to flavor that you should taste from your cup as a beginner.

You’ll learn more about flavor when it’s a specialty coffee. If there are any recommended videos that will help to guide you for a great coffee, I suggest you watch this beginners guide video from James Hoffmann.

--

--

Sidqi Hatake

Feeling very lucky after tasting coffee. So, I am gonna write about it!