Why I Leave Starbucks (It’s not about war)

Sidqi Hatake
3 min readNov 2, 2023

--

I don’t think I’ll ever go to starbucks for my own personal reasons. I mean in my opinion, coffee in Indonesia doesn’t have to be that pricey. Even the most flavorful one.

Also, most people go to Starbucks for their lifestyle drink and not for getting coffee to benefit their activity. Again, this is my own personal opinion.

But in the end, I’m buying not just the drink but coffee beans from starbucks. What has happened to me?

Starbucks Boycott, source M9.news
Starbucks Boycott, source M9.news

Then lately, people have accused Starbucks of donating to Israel for occupying Palestine.

While Starbucks being in conversation on social media everywhere, then I remember how Starbucks has influenced my coffee journey.

How I met Starbucks

One day, I had a headache. Don’t know why. But the only thing I noticed was that my coffee had lasted a day before. That’s all I could think of.

Warung Kopi, source : Pesona Indonesia

So then I concluded that my headache was because I didn’t get my daily usual doses of caffeine.

And then I called my mother in law (because she was somewhere outside) to buy me some coffee. Because it is somewhere that I don’t familiar with yet, the quickest recommendation was to find the nearest Starbucks.

Starbucks in Indonesia compare to warung kopi

What I am going to compare is the mindset about both Starbucks and warung kopi around here in Indonesia.

When you are somewhere far from the Mall or any similar place, there will be no strong reason to buy coffee from Starbucks. But, at the Mall, Starbucks is almost like the only place to buy coffee.

Except coffee shops or roasters, in Indonesia warung kopi will serve you any instant coffee drink and snack. Just like Starbucks (I guess, lol).

Ice Coffee, source : Antaranews.com

Warung kopi has a good amount of instant coffee options. The most different thing is, warung kopi will serve any drink and snack for a cheap price. Unlike Starbucks, of course.

How about the taste? It will satisfy you, even though it is from warung kopi. I mean, that’s all you can expect at any cheap price drink and snack everywhere.

So why buy coffee beans from Starbucks, then?

When I had to ask my mother to buy coffee from Starbucks back then, it was when I didn’t have any good brewing equipment. Clearly I don’t really care about the standard flavor and taste here. As long as I can feel the caffeine.

Then my mother bought me Kolombia beans from Starbucks. For just tubruk style brewing, the flavor was so good. It is so good that it makes me think about upgrading to having coffee brewing equipment at home.

Tubruk, source : Pinterest

Then I began to have my own coffee dripper for brewing at home. It feels safe for me to use Starbucks beans as a standard.

Now, my standard has arised. I think there are many more flavorful and tasty coffee beans from local roasters everywhere in Indonesia. But it’s good to meet Starbucks bean at the beginning.

Follow me!

--

--

Sidqi Hatake

Feeling very lucky after tasting coffee. So, I am gonna write about it!