Kovan.SG
1 min readSep 14, 2019

I am a Hougang “6th Mile” (La Kor Jie in Teochew) boy. This place where I stay is now better known in Singapore as Kovan.

In the Singapore URA master-plan, Kovan is defined as bounded by Upper Serangoon Road, Yio Chu Kang Road and Hougang Avenue 2. However in reality, many of the well-known Kovan amenities are at the other side of Upper Serangoon Road outside the above boundary. These include: Kovan Heartland Mall, Kovan City, Kovan Hub, Kovan Market and Food Centre, Kovan Sports Centre, Paya Lebar Kovan Community Club, DBS Kovan Branch, Esso Kovan.

Screen Capture from URA Planning Boundary: North East Region / Hougang / Kovan. Kovan in red boundary.

I will like to use this medium to share more of Kovan.

I will end this medium post with a ST newspaper cutting about Kovan (Upper Serangoon Road) which I saw at “Ah Seah Porridge House”.