Focus On What You Want

Kristin Hayden
2 min readJun 10, 2015

--

Photo credit: http://www.karenay.com

Creating a Vision for your life starts with listening to your deep desires and getting connected to what you really want. The next step is to imagine what it would feel like to really have it. This begins the very powerful process of making your Vision happen. This is serious stuff we are talking about here. It’s about owning what you actually want.

I have noticed that when I ask people what they want to create in their life, many start by sharing all the things they don’t want. “I don’t want to work so many hours in a job that doesn’t inspire me and stresses me out. I am sick of spending hours and hours commuting to work and not having enough time with my family. I am tired of feeling so stuck in my personal life. I wish I weren’t so unhealthy and out of shape.” Etc, etc, etc.

The thing I know to be most effective in creating Vision is to FOCUS ON WHAT WE WANT, instead of what we don’t want. Of course it can be a good starting point to acknowledge the things you want to change in your life, but be aware that focusing on what we DON’T want tends to create more of that!

If I want to create financial abundance in my life, but I am always thinking about not having enough money to do the things I want and telling people all the time that I cannot afford to do things, then I am constantly reaffirming that I am broke. It is okay and understandable if we are not sure how we are going to create what we want, but if we are repeatedly telling ourselves and others why we can’t have it, then we are less likely to create a different possibility.

It is really important to listen to your own self-talk here, as well as how you are talking about your Vision and desires with other people. Our words are very powerful and reflect how we are thinking about things and what we really believe is possible. When we declare our deep desires and Vision in an affirmative way, that is what we are creating. Such a simple and profound concept.

So tell me, what is it that you want?

__________________________________________________________________

If you like what you’ve read, share the love and please recommend below!

Also, follow me on Twitter, Facebook or Medium to get these weekly posts on Vision directly to your inbox!

--

--

Kristin Hayden

Changing our world by changing ourselves — it all starts with Vision! Social Entrepreneur, @Ashoka Fellow, Speaker, WellbeingAmbassador, Investor in Women&Youth