The Experiments That Change Everything

Kristin Hayden
4 min readAug 2, 2015

Tired of hearing yourself complain about those changes you’ve been wanting to make in your life? Had enough of talking about it and not doing it? Frustrated about over-thinking it and torturing yourself about how you want to take the Leap of Inspired Action, but you can’t seem to find the motivation, courage or willpower? Ready for a change? Ready to feel better — physically, emotionally, spiritually and/or mentally? Ready to take some action on your Vision?

Try an Experiment! I love Experiments. They are perfect for shaking things up, especially when you find yourself itching for a positive change. They are time-limited and they are powerful. They can be game-changing too. I look to Experiments when I am feeling stuck and need a jump-start out of the patterns I have found myself in, into the direction of my Vision and what I really want in life.

I am a big fan of 30 day Experiments (maybe because they say it takes 21 days to form a new habit, so 30 tends to make things stick). If I am focused on my health and my Vision is to be healthy, fit and sexy, I might experiment with 30 days of no alcohol, no sugar and working out for 30-minutes daily. When focused on my spirituality, I might commit to meditate every morning, for 5 minutes a day for 30 days. If I have been talking about writing a book, I might commit to writing for one hour every morning, for at least one month, regardless of how I feel about it. In fact, the key to a successful Experiment is to commit to the action and suspend your internal conversation and judgement about how you feel for the 30 days. At the end of this period, you will have time to reflect, check in and notice if this new action and/or behavior truly made you feel any different. Don’t worry — you can always go back to your old way of doing things (and you know how that feels)!

The point of this Experiment is to see what opens up in your life when you are committed to taking a new action over a sustained period of time.

Experiments can be a purely mental exercise too. If I am feeling stuck in an area in my life, I may try an experiment to LET IT GO, say a positive affirmation about it every day, for 30 days, and see what changes afterwards. For example, if I have been worried about money, I may choose to stop worrying about it for 30 days (yes, that too can be a choice) and repeat a daily affirmation about opening myself to financial abundance, and see what comes my way. The Experiments can also be more philosophical in nature, as an attempt to mix things up, especially when you want to make some changes but you don’t know where to begin. For example, you may commit to trying one thing every day that gets you out of your comfort zone, or one thing a day that scares you!

Whatever it is, just choose it! Think about the one action that you could take every day, for 30 days, in the direction of the Vision for your life. If you need some ideas on this, think about the thing you complain and/or worry about most, and use that as inspiration for your Experiment. Whatever you choose, commit to this daily action no matter what! And then declare it to at least one person who will support you through the process. I love Experiment buddies! Just ask someone you trust to either join you in their own 30 day Experiment, or be there to support you and check in so that you’re staying on track. I check in with my Experiment buddies daily and I find this encouragement and accountability really helps.

There are different moments, such as a new month, a new season or a new chapter in my life, that seem to inspire me to decide TODAY IS THE DAY to commit to an Experiment! The Blue Moon that just happened and the beginning of this month have just compelled me to embark on a new one. Will you join me?

The Key to a successful Experiment is to

#1 Commit to your daily action;

#2 Let go of how you feel about doing it;

#3 Ask a trusted Experiment Buddy to support you;

#4 Visualize how you will feel at the end of it, after you’ve been doing this action for 30 days!

#5 Just do it!

__________________________________________________________________

If you like what you’ve read, share the love and please recommend below!

Also, follow me on Twitter, Facebook or Medium to get these weekly posts onVision directly to your inbox!

--

--

Kristin Hayden

Changing our world by changing ourselves — it all starts with Vision! Social Entrepreneur, @Ashoka Fellow, Speaker, WellbeingAmbassador, Investor in Women&Youth