What is Vision?

Kristin Hayden
3 min readJun 4, 2015

--

“If you are working on something exciting that you really care about, you don’t have to be pushed. The vision pulls you.” ~ Steve Jobs

Everyone who knows me, knows that I love to talk, think and ask people about Vision. I think about my own Vision all of the time. The Vision for my life continues to evolve and grow, as I do. Nevertheless, my Vision remains that guiding force or cosmic pull, as Steve Jobs said, that is always calling to me, whenever I choose to listen. When times are challenging and things aren’t working out as I expected, my Vision is that heart-felt inspiration of why I want what I want and where I am ultimately headed. And still, people often ask me, what do I really mean when I say Vision (capital V)? So I thought I would take a shot at explaining what this very powerful concept means for me.

Vision is the big idea, the inspiring dream, that deep desire calling us from inside.

I believe that everybody has a Vision for their life, although most people have not taken the time to explore within themselves what that might be. Have you ever noticed what happens to people when they are describing what they really want in their life? Their entire face lights up and they get that sparkle in their eyes! That is when you know people are really connected to Vision, because they are feeling it and so are you.

“Your vision will become clear only when you can look into your own heart.” ~ Carl Jung

The starting point is really listening and acknowledging to yourself what your heart desires. Deep down, we always know what we really, really want, we may just be afraid to declare it. When we pay attention to that inner voice and desire, Vision will invite you to listen deeper and then Vision will move you forward.

When I want to get in touch with my own Vision and explore what my heart desires, I start by asking myself a series of questions. If it were an absolute ideal world what would I be doing, where would I be living, who would be in my life, what kind of impact would I be having in my community and how would I be feeling? The last question about how I want to be feeling is especially important. When I can really connect with how I want to be feeling in my Vision, suddenly it becomes alive for me in a very real way.

And then, once I get clear about my Vision and choose it — even when I have no idea how it can possibly be done, the magic begins to happen! I am always amazed that just by committing to what we really want for our lives, the path to getting there opens up in surprising ways.

“The moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred… Unforeseen incidents, meetings, and material assistance, which no man could have dreamed would have come his way.” ~ Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

When we shine light on our Vision, its pull becomes even stronger and something we can no longer ignore. It becomes bigger than us. Every time in life that I have embraced Vision, I have experienced my life’s best choices. It often feels scary at the time, but honoring and stepping into my Vision always turns out to be the greatest gift I could ever give myself, as well as to the world and people around me.

Listen carefully to what your Vision is inviting you to do next…

__________________________________________________________________

If you like what you’ve read, share the love and please recommend below!

Also, follow me on Twitter, Facebook or Medium to get these weekly posts on Vision directly to your inbox!

--

--

Kristin Hayden

Changing our world by changing ourselves — it all starts with Vision! Social Entrepreneur, @Ashoka Fellow, Speaker, WellbeingAmbassador, Investor in Women&Youth