I Just found this Crowdfunding Facebook Promotion Hack

Kunle Campbell
3 min readOct 9, 2016

--

I was on Facebook last night; I’ve found that I have been spending less and less time on my Facebook feed of late (about 1–2 hours or less a week). Largely thanks to Newsfeed eradicator and the required emotional energy required to navigate the murky terrain of updates from my family, friends and acquaintances. I have been spending more time on SnapChat because the emotional energy required to go through updates does not require engagement or reciprocity.

Anyway back to Facebook, a sponsored ad about the new Pebble ad popped on my screen (s. So rather than click through to the destination page, I clicked on the succinctly named Facebook page ‘‘Best Crowdfunding Projects’’. I curiously clicked through, hoping to bookmark it as a Page or blog I could submit my first crowdfunding project or that of clients I work with.

Having clicked through the page, I noticed that it only had two updates. It became obvious that it was set up for the sole purpose of promoting the Pebble watch campaign on Facebook.

This is the full page:

This URL of the said ad strangely took me to a 404 page. Here’s the URL:
http://10.jellopcrowdfunding.com/Pebble-rd-CL7-26919047711.html

But stripping the URL to just the domain name takes you to this page — a crowdfunding promotion agency:

Back to the Facebook page:
Facebook similar pages suggestion revealed even more pages set up just like this one:

There’s one called Best of Kickstarter with 11,000+ fans but only one update.

Other pages with pretty much one or two products are:

New on Kickstarter

Amazing Tech Crowdfunding Projects You Need to See

Design Crowdfunding Projects

Amazing Kickstarter Projects

Hottest Kickstarter Projects

Here’s how I think it works:

They are all set up to appear to be legitimate crowdfunding review sites. Even their logos have elements of green like the Kickstarter logo.

The owners either buy fans or run like campaigns. With some social proof from the likes they have acquired, they run campaigns with a Focus on clicks to a Kickstarter project or a landing page.

--

--

Kunle Campbell

ecommerce 📈 advisor | customer acquisition strategist to startup & mid-tier etailers ➕ an apprentice physical product business entrepreneur ➕ gym rat 🏋️ 🐭