MEET THE TEAM: Melanie Berra | Jr. Art Director

Kworq
4 min readJul 8, 2021

--

A LITTLE BIT ABOUT MELANIE: Native Floridian who’s heart is destined to be in the city. Nature seeker by day, dancing queen by night. Introverted extrovert, like a true Sagittarius. Born to be a creator, forever learning the craft.

What’s your role at Kworq? How long have you been here?

I’m the Jr. Art Director here at Kworq. I’ve been here since February 2020, so about a year and 5 months. I’m also the designated pop-culture enthusiast — anything music, movies, or Gaga related, I gotchyu.

What attracted you to this role at Kworq vs any other agency?

I actually knew about Kworq prior to moving to NYC. I’ve always wanted to be in the city since I was little, and after starting my career at similar boutique agencies in Miami, Kworq was one that always resonated with me. Right off the bat you know Kworq takes the unconventional route, and that made me feel that the people behind the scenes must be pretty badass.

Where is your portrait taken? Why this place? What’s the significance?

My portrait is taken at Prospect Park in Brooklyn. I live close by and throughout the pandemic this was my safe haven, both in the literal senses (plenty of space to social distance) and figurative. I’m from Florida where nature is accessible pretty much right in your backyard, and this place really feels like an escape away from the concrete.

Why’d you choose to go into the Advertising and Marketing industry?

I like to say that I didn’t choose this life, this life chose me. I think this industry is fueled by creative thinkers, go-getters and problem solvers, and with that there’s a certain lifestyle that’s required. It kind of feels like we’re doing the impossible all the time and somehow always making it work. It can be pretty intense, but extremely rewarding.

What’s the coolest part about working in advertising?

Seeing your work IRL. It’s awesome to see strangers and/or people you know engaging with your work and reacting to it in the ways you’d hope for. We’re kind of like scientists when creating, coming up with a hypothesis and experimenting in which ways we can make it happen. And when it works, it’s the best pay-off.

What’s the uncoolest part about working advertising?

Inevitably becoming a workaholic. We oftentimes don’t know when to let go and shut down for the night. But, that has to do with the whole go-getter mentality I mentioned earlier.

What’s an unexpected perk of working at an agency like Kworq in this industry?

My teammates. These people are like superheroes to me — they’re innovative thinkers, always determined to produce great work, and really look out for one another. And I’m constantly laughing throughout the day (the GIF wars are real).

What are some challenges of the business?

We’re a small bunch, so it’s all hands on deck everyday. But, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger ;)

What’s something new you learned since working at Kworq? Doesn’t have to be work related. Could be silly, informative, fun, useful, a life skill, etc.

I think I’ve grown both in my career and personal life in an overall sense since working at Kworq. I’ve been able to strengthen my patience & resilience, take on more responsibility, improve my design skills and upkeep balancing it all. And I’m still learning everyday.

What’s life look like for you in 5 years? Screw reality, what’s the “if I won the lottery” answer?

Career version: Stage Designer/Creative Director for Lady Gaga’s next world tour.

Life version: Brownstone in Manhattan, beach house in Cape Cod, and a decked-out RV for endless road trips.

What inspires you in your work?

I know it sounds cliche, but literally EVERYTHING. New people I meet, friends & family, New York City, nostalgia. Anything that sparks joy in my mind goes straight into the inspiration bucket.

How do you stay creative outside of the Kworq offices?

Not going to lie, it’s hard for me to keep my creative wheels going once 6pm hits on a Friday (the burnout is real!). But, when I am feeling inspired, I typically like to illustrate or collage, jot down ideas in my journal, or jam out on my Stratocastor.

All photography by Gabriela Della Corna.

Meet More of the Kworq Team:

Strategist: Cam Horan

Art Director: Gabriela Della Corna

Sr. Project Manager: Christina Viehoefer

Originally published at Kworq Blog.

--

--

Kworq

Creative agency. Creating digital brand stories & crafting killer experiences. Here to share our thoughts. https://kworq.com