Nasty, Neutral, or Nice: What Box Does Your Relationship Live In?

Kyle Benson
12 min readAug 22, 2018

In every interaction, every couple falls into one of three boxes: Nasty, Neutral, or Nice.

While many of us, including couples therapist, believe that a couple’s ability to be nice during conflict conversations determines the happiness of the relationship, Dr. Gottman’s research on thousands of couples highlights that happy couples often have far more neutral conversations that are emotionally dull.1

The Nice Box

Avery: I’m sorry I overreacted about you not cooking dinner earlier. I’ve been really stressed with this new project at work and I should not have taken that out on you.

Blake: Yeah… that wasn’t fun and I know work is chaotic for you right now. I also know you get overwhelmed when things feel unorganized and the lack of organization on this work project has been hard on you.2

Avery: I know. It’s so frustrating. I’m trying everything and it’s such a messy.

Blake: I get that. How about we treat ourselves tonight to some take out?

Avery: Our favorite place?

Blake: Duh!

Avery walks over and gives Blake a big hug and kiss.

--

--

Kyle Benson

Kyle Benson provides research based tools to build long-lasting relationships. Visit KyleBenson.net to improve your emotional connection today.