Culture

The Powerful, Yet Simple Ways Southern People Practice Self Care

We are more progressive than we get credit for

Kylie Craft
Writers’ Blokke
Published in
4 min readJun 19, 2020

--

A beautiful southern home with a book in a chair.
Photo by Alisa Anton on Unsplash

Every culture is different, but they all have their own versions of relaxation, self-care, and recreational activities. Here in Georgia, it used to be steam baths and then it was colonics (yuck). Now, self care is the new thing everyone is recommending for stress relief. I don’t know if this is supposed to be in addition to Xanax or in lieu of it, but I’ve found that the idea of self care is different to me than to my big city/northern friends. So I thought I’d write about what self care looks like to the people of the southern United States.

Smell the rain and grab the arthritis cream

If you’re from the country, you know the smell of the rain coming in. It is cool and sweet and, often times, it is accompanied by the wind or a gentle breeze. Instead of face planting on a yoga mat, go outside and close your eyes when you smell the rain. Meditate in it, if that’s your thing, but at least smell God’s country and let your problems get washed away. Bath and Body Works really needs to make a candle that smells like this. It would be a best seller!

Dirt Roads really are my anthem

--

--