Higher Is Waiting: What You’ll Need To Become Successful

@LITERALLYDC
2 min readNov 21, 2017

--

I’m usually behind when it comes to reading a newly released book; I have such a list of books to read that I rarely ever check to see upcoming releases. I was planning a list of books to read for this upcoming year when I decided to search for upcoming releases when I came across Tyler Perry’s Higher Is Waiting, I must be honest I was instantly excited about this release. Not too long ago I had sat and watched his episode on Oprah’s Master Class about the struggles he faced to achieve success. Having also watched several of his plays and movies I wasn’t sure what to expect from his book. Before I jumped to any hasty decisions, because committing myself to completing a book is a very important decision to me, I decided to read the summary and a few online reviews. I was sold! This was no autobiography and the reviews had all been awesome. I placed an advance order on Amazon and hurried home to get my package out the mailbox the day of its release.

Higher is Waiting is a collection of anecdotes from Perry paired with biblical reference. These life lessons start back as far as Perry’s childhood and carry on throughout Perry’s career. The lessons throughout the book provide the reader with the tools they need to achieve their goal and start living a more purposeful life. Perry explains how to have faith, listen for God’s voice and take as many steps as it takes to ultimately reach your goal. While the book does associate each lesson with a biblical reference the book does not have the forceful undertone some religious based books have, his references are just that, examples of how life relates directly to the Bible.

Faith, happiness, compassion and the ability to hear God are the keys Perry recommends using in our attempts to reach our goals. He explains in detail and uses several examples to show how these tools will be necessary in order to achieve a purposeful life. Cultivating and eliminating relationships is imperative in your pursuit of success, he provides insight on how to nourish the relationships you have that are healthy and how to recognize those relationships that have already served their purpose and can be eliminated. His tree analogy is just one of the many examples he uses in his book to help you distinguish who is valuable in your life and who can be eliminated.

https://www.amazon.com/Higher-Waiting-Tyler-Perry/dp/0812989341/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1511175306&sr=8-1&keywords=higher+is+waiting

--

--

@LITERALLYDC

The mission of LITERALLY DC is to inspire reading and the discussion of literary works; providing an atmosphere that promotes unity and community involvement.