Good Morning Church! You Are Blessed And Highly Favored!

LaVern Vivio
5 min readSep 17, 2017

--

At least if you truly believe what you claim to believe you are.

These past few weeks should make that more apparent than ever.

Just a few weeks ago we were at each other’s throats as a nation;

Only to be driven to our knees by the devastation of the storms.

Caught up in the middle of it all we observed the anniversary of 9–11.

And every media outlet made the same observations.

The point was made over and over about how the tragedy of the storms made us forget what divides us; For the moment.

As we remembered those who lost their lives on 9–11, we remembered the way we came together as a nation then as well.

And as recovery efforts continue, we are reminded again, that we are at our best — when we are on our knees.

Our nation is unique in the way it handles tragedy and natural disaster.

We come together like no other nation — but many are forgetting why.

Apologist Ravi Zachariah explained it well in a speech he made at Yale.

He was questioned about his comments regarding the extraordinary impact America has made on the rest of the world and he explained it by quoting Irish Historian W.E.H Lecky.

“The simple record of three short years of active life has done more to regenerate and to soften mankind, than all the disquisitions of philosophers and than all the exhortations of moralists.”

Lecky’s comment was his observation on the influence of Jesus Christ.

Zachariah said the life of CHRIST is the foundation that has made America what it is today.

And it continues to be the foundation that sees us through.

Even-though many would have you believe our faith is in decline;

As the storms moved in we found our peace, our hope; though prayer and our faith in GOD.

For more than 20 years I have studied the arguments of those who say there is no GOD.

Over and over I have read and heard claims that we should turn away from our faith in GOD and CHRIST, in favor of a ‘generic humanitarianism,’ because faith and ‘religion’ is responsible for wars, hate and bigotry.

But in truth it is only a perversion of that faith and religion that bring on such evils.

The truth of the matter is, that only through faith do we have the strength and the resolve to stand up to the storms and tragedy of life with hope and a promise for our future.

Atheism while claiming to eliminate the ‘tragedy of religion’ through enlightenment, actually leaves the world hopeless of what may lie ahead.

There is a great song by Chris Tomlin that has become a bit of an anthem for me lately. The lyrics talk about the peace we have through JESUS CHRIST and it draws from one of my favorite Old Testament scriptures as well, Isaiah 40:31

I wish I could play the song for you at this point but instead I will leave you with a link to the video and the lyrics;

And my recommendation that you give it a listen as you say a prayer for the HOPE we all have; For a future;

Through the sacrifice of Our LORD and SAVIOR JESUS CHRIST.

I will Rise — Chris Tomlin

There’s a peace I’ve come to know
Though my heart and flesh may fail
There’s an anchor for my soul
I can say, it is well

Jesus has overcome
And the grave is overwhelmed
The victory is won
He is risen from the dead

And I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagle’s wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise, I will rise

There’s a day that’s drawing near
When this darkness breaks to light
And the shadows disappear
And my faith shall be my eyes

Jesus has overcome
And the grave is overwhelmed
The victory is won
He is risen from the dead

And I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagle’s wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise, I will rise

And I hear the voice of many angels sing
Worthy is the Lamb
And I hear the cry of every longing heart
Worthy is the Lamb

And I hear the voice of many angels sing
Worthy is the Lamb
And I hear the cry of every longing heart
Worthy is the Lamb
(You are worthy, You are worthy)
Worthy is the Lamb

I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagle’s wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise, I will rise, I will rise

GOD Bless!

LaVern Vivio

September 17, 2017

--

--

LaVern Vivio

Christian wife and mother of four boys. Career long Broadcaster, speaker and author. http://lavernvivio.com