I Am Inspired By…

Minnie Lahongrais
2 min readApr 4, 2023
A Champ

Jan Sebastian, a witty, courageous, medium writer I met here some time ago.

Jan is very public with regard to struggles she faces as she continues to recover from a stroke. Click here to read her latest post as she re-learns how to walk and I thought I’d share my experience.

My mom had a stroke in June of 2010. Five years earlier, my dad passed away due to the effects of a stroke he’d suffered. She and my dad had been married 48 years and she was lonely. All she wanted was to b by his side, so once released from the hospital, she half-heartedly participated in the physical, occupational and speech therapy she desperately needed. Then one day she just gave up and refused any therapy. She was bedridden for five years and g-tube fed before she passed peacefully in October of 2015.

January 6, 2016. I had just returned to work after enjoying the first holiday season with my daughter and her family since my mom’s passing. That night I did not have a stroke, but was pushed on a ramp in a Times Square subway station during rush hour. I ended up with a busted left knee that required delicate surgical reconstruction and a broken right wrist.

After being released from the emergency room, my daughter took me to her place where I recovered in my (at the time) teenaged grandson’s bedroom until I was well enough to go home and begin my own round of…

--

--

Minnie Lahongrais

Author of speculative fiction w/ a twist and book editor. Join Medium and never miss any of my musings: https://medium.com/@Lahongrais/membership