I Drew Everyday For The Past Few Months And Now I Have An Art Magazine!

Lalaina Rackson
6 min readDec 26, 2017

Some of you might not know this but I taught myself how to draw a few years ago.

And ever since then, I’ve been doing drawings here and there, trying to get better and trying to understand the proper techniques.

Little by little, I got more and more into it and eventually I feel in love with the whole process.

Fast forward to september 2017, I had started a drawing that I couldn’t finish because I was scared of messing it up.

I then decided to grab fear by its shoulders and I just shook it really hard.

After I did so, I finished my drawing and by the same occasion I told myself that I would finish 5 drawings complete with paint before the end of 2017 so that I could walk into 2018 with the eagerness to continue on drawing even more.

And that’s when I had the idea of creating an Art magazine for my little art project.

All 5 of my new drawings will be the first 5 covers of my magazine.

Now before I continue, I would like to state that it’s not a real magazine (unfortunately)!

I am only going to be drawing 5 realistic drawings of celebrities that I like, and those drawings are going to look like the covers of a magazine, my magazine: LALAINARTS (which is literally the name of my instagram).

But I haven’t really created a full magazine (yet).

Why was I inspired by Magazine Covers for my little art project?

First, because I like the aesthetic of Magazine covers with the big title at the top and the close-up photo.

Also, because my instagram name was already LALAINARTS.

I figured that it would be a nice magazine name and it’s also a way for me to put my social media on my work in order for people to know where to find me. Basically it’s like signing my name on all of my drawings but instead of a small little signature in the corner, it’s just nicely displayed in big letters and incorporated with the design of all of my drawings.

Furthermore, I decided to turn my drawings into Magazine Covers because I didn’t want to just draw celebrities and be done with it. I needed to put a little sprinkle of my creativity in there!

And that is also why I have decided to incorporate FLOWERS in all of my drawings.

I needed to incorporate color somehow in all of my drawings because I decided to start getting into painting, that’s why I decided to put flowers, because they are pretty and colorful! Also I really love this artist named Sage Barnes who uses a lot of flowers in his work which then inspired me to choose flowers as the pop of color to my black and white drawings.

One thing that I can tell you is that flowers are EXTREMELY hard to draw!! I hated myself for wanting to draw flowers because it’s really no joke! But I love challenges and I really love the look of flowers so I was committed to continuing with my flower idea! And now that I am almost done with my 5 drawings, I am proud to say that it was indeed a good idea after all! And even though it is extremely hard and I might cry a river everytime I start to draw the flowers, I always manage to incorporate them and do them in a style that is my own! (even if I am not the best flower drawer)

One last thing about my drawings and my style is that I only draw in black and white. The only thing that will be in color will be the flowers and each drawing will have a specific colored flower. That means that one drawing will have pink flowers, the other one blue flowers etc etc… The reason behind that is of course because I love challenges so I wanted to challenge myself to only use one main color and also it is already my instagram theme (black and white with just 1 pop of color) so I had to follow that same theme.

Now without further ado, I am proud to show you my first magazine issue featuring the beautiful Shay Mitchell:

LALAINARTS — Pink Edition

Unfortunately, I didn’t use paint for that drawing because at that point I was still drawing on printer paper and it’s too thin so you cannot paint on it or else it’ll be a mess! So instead, I colored the flowers using colored pencils! I love this drawing because it’s the first one of many and also it’s the only one which is not painted and I love that because it is different from the others.

Please make sure to follow me on Instagram to see my other drawings! I will be posting another one before the end of 2017 and a lot more in 2018! ☺︎

I hope that with my little drawing project I can inspire some of you to just do things. Whatever it is that you really want to do or really want to try, just do it already! It’s ok if you suck at first! A few years ago, I used to tell people “I don’t know how to draw!” but then I decided to learn to draw and now here we are I am embarking in this crazy art project and I am literally drawing every single day!

It doesn’t matter how you start, whether you start good or really bad, what matters is that you’re doing it because you want to and you keep on doing it because you love to do it!

So go on, do that things you’ve always wanted to learn how to do and then never stop!

RELATED ARTICLES:

Let me know what you thought about this story by leaving a comment. Clicking the 👏 button is optional, but appreciated. Following me is required, if you want to read more stories by yours truly. And subscribing to my newsletter could be quite practical!

Thank you for stopping by, hope you’ve had a nice stay! ❤︎

MediumTwitter FacebookInstagramYoutube

PREVIOUS STORY◀︎ ▶︎NEXT STORY

--

--

Lalaina Rackson

Empowering a generation to live authentically #WeTheAuthenticGeneration — Email me: LalainaRackson@gmail.com