Things that people want to read on medium.

Read till the end for the secret on getting people to read your posts.

Lalaina Rackson
3 min readJul 31, 2016

--

I’ve written a couple of posts here on medium over the last couple of months and I think that I’m starting to understand what people initially want to read.

By no means am I telling you to write for others. Personally, I write for myself. Because I have too much going on in my head and I would like to have at least 8 hours of sleep at night without my mind going through every single thought we might come across. It’s frustrating.

So we, and by “we” I mean my mind and I, have decided to write things down to get things out of our chest. Yes, the chest is also involved and it is tired of all the weights it’s been holding.

All jokes aside, I’m writing this because one of my post is at 100 recommends, likes, green hearts, whatever you want to call them (🎉👏🏾💃🏾😁🎉). The post in question is “Write your ideas down!”

I don’t know why I find it funny that this post got so many likes but for some reason it makes me want to laugh. Not an evil laugh, don’t worry. But an awkward “Ah! Wasn’t expecting this.” kind of laugh. I truly was not expecting this. To be honest I’m not expecting anyone to ever read any of my posts but there you all are reading one of them.

To me it’s funny that “Write your ideas down” got so many likes because I was just saying something that we all told ourselves at one point. I did not invent a great amazing way to be productive or creative or whatnot. I did not share the secret recipe to the best chocolate cake ever. — If anyone knows it please share this secret with me, thank you. — I basically said what everyone knew. I also was just reminding myself to not give up on that habit of writing things down because it can be useful for me in the long run. I did not know that people would reply with “thank you” and “I needed to hear that” and whatnot. It feels weird that people thank me when I know that they told themselves the same thing. I guess that everyone needs a little push from another person. Sometimes pushing yourself and telling yourself things is not enough. You need to hear things from other people.

You see, that is why I think that we all are truly one. We all have our differences. We all are a different age, color, gender, height, weight. We all come from different countries, have different languages etc… And yet here we are seeking someone to tell us the exact same thing that we’ve been thinking for ages. We want to know that we are not the only one thinking about a certain thing. It makes us all relate to one another. Our minds relate. They have the same thoughts and ideas. They are connected. And that is what brings us all together.

So really THANK YOU for reading my posts. THANK YOU for allowing me to inspire you. THANK YOU for sharing your thoughts with me. THANK YOU for connecting your mind to mine. THANK YOU for just being an awesome human being!

Now because of the title I guess people were expecting some kind of secret to getting more people to read their medium posts. Well, here is my secret:

Just write. Write. Ecrit. Escribir. الكتابة. 書き込み. 寫. Scribunt.

Write about anything really. Write about things that inspire you. Write about things that keeps you going in life. Write about writing. Just write. Chances are that if you feel a little bit inspired by your own post, other people will too. So first and foremost write for yourself. And because we all are human beings, we will also relate to what you have to say somehow.

Because we all are one!

Let me know what you think about this story by leaving a comment. Clicking the heart button is optional, but appreciated. Following me is required, if you want to read more stories by yours truly.

Thank you for stopping by, hope you had a nice stay! ❤︎

PREVIOUS STORY◀︎ ▶︎NEXT STORY

--

--

Lalaina Rackson

Empowering a generation to live authentically #WeTheAuthenticGeneration — Email me: LalainaRackson@gmail.com