What a world… RIP Christina Grimmie! 💔

I’m scared for my safety as well as yours.

Lalaina Rackson
3 min readJun 11, 2016

--

Today, on June 11th, the world wakes up with the horrifying news that the talented Christina Grimmie was shot yesterday while signing autographs after her performance at her Orlando concert and died at the age of 22. Just writing those words horrify me…

I’m speechless…

On November 13th, in Paris we went through a similar situation. People had disrupted what should have been a celebration of music, peace and love.

I already hear people cursing me out for comparing the two. I know that what happened in Paris was a terrorist attack. I was roaming the streets of Paris at that time and ran back home as soon as I heard it was not safe.

Although during the Paris attack more than 500 people were touched by the events, the two events are still similar nonetheless. Except this time it was a direct attack on the performer.

Honestly, I do not know what kind of person would deliberately want to hurt someone like Christina Grimmie… May she rest in peace. My heart goes out to her friends and family. 💙

Those kind of things really got me scared. I am terrified. Sure, as a French person I have this “joie de vivre” that everyone talks about. Not just as a French person, but as the true human being that I am. But in this day and age, it has come to the point where I am scared for my safety as well as everyone else’s.

No one is truly safe in this world and that terrifies me…

We keep hoping and praying that our deceased ones are in a better place but what about making a better place here on earth?

We now live in a world where it is not safe to walk around with our hoodies up, because someone might find us threatening and shoot us. We now live in a world where it is not safe to love whoever you want, because someone might harass you to the point where you commit suicide. We now live in a world where girls cannot be girls and just walk around during the day or the night, because someone might think that you were just asking to be raped. We now live in a world where performers and fans cannot enjoy a moment of music, joy and love because someone might be allergic to all of those and they might disrupt this beautiful moment.

We now live in a world, where we wish that death would bring us to a better place…

I, for one, believe that our planet should be the better place. I am not saying that when we will die we will go to a bad place. I am saying that we will just go to another good place. But our planet shouldn’t have to be a bad place compared to that.

I know it is a lot to ask for. And I know that we will go through other terrifying moments. Sadly… But I really hope that starting today, we can make our world a better place, if not for me and my peers, for the next generations to come.

“Heal the world, make it a better place, for you and for me and the entire human race.” — Michael Jackson

This post was also published on here.

Let me know what you think about this story by leaving a comment. Clicking the heart button is optional, but appreciated. Following me is required, if you want to read more stories by yours truly.

Thank you for stopping by, hope you had a nice stay! ❤︎

PREVIOUS STORY◀︎ ▶︎NEXT STORY

--

--

Lalaina Rackson

Empowering a generation to live authentically #WeTheAuthenticGeneration — Email me: LalainaRackson@gmail.com