5 Manchester United players who shouldn’t be at the club.

Lamidi
4 min readJan 10, 2017

--

image source: Newstalk

As Manchester United go through this period of transition, every fan has become a critic these days.

We all thought Jose was going to be the man to take United back to glory and while I believe he can still do it, there’s one key thing that he needs to do, a fucking clear out.

Jose has been known to have trim squads wherever he coaches and is never reluctant to offload whoever doesn’t fit into his grand plan. With the United team, he has failed at this. He got his transfers in on time, but wasn’t ruthless in letting people go.

As the good man that I am, I have taken my time to put together a list of players who shouldn’t be at United and I’m hoping someone passes this on to Jose.

Number one player on the list is public enemy Wayne Rooney. I didn’t just get on the Hate Rooney band wagon, I basically started the movement. Rooney has been washed up for the last 3 years, he slows down the attack, loses the ball way too much and doesn’t score enough goals. He is the captain of the club earning 300,000 pounds weekly but doesn’t carry the team on his back.

image source: theweek.co.uk

Some people will argue that he has suffered from numerous tactical changes and playing out of position, but I don’t buy it. His overall game play has declined and he hasn’t adapted to that change. He should learn a thing or two from Giggs. People talk about his work rate and how he tracks back, but all that doesn’t count if he can’t do the basic things expected of him.

Second player on my list is Phil Jones. Fergie needs to take some heat for signing this fraud. 20 million pounds for a 19 year old who showed no promise is so puzzling. I wonder what Fergie saw in him and I can’t understand why Jose hasn’t terminated his contract. His play is so rash, he lacks skill, intelligence and composure and can’t seem to stay fit. United can’t be paying 2.6 million pounds yearly for someone who is always on the sidelines.

For my third player, I’m going with another defender, Marcos Rojo. I never watched Rojo play before he came to United but since signing, he hasn’t impressed me one bit. I can’t seem to understand why he is a defender, because he doesn’t understand the basics of defending. Poor positional play, always seems clueless on the ball and looks like he can get a red card anytime.

I’m probably going to get a lot of stick for this, but my next player has to be Micheal Carrick. As good as the fans say he still is and the midfield needs him, I don’t think United should include him in any plans going forward. He is 35 and has struggled with his fitness for the last 2 seasons and the earlier Jose builds a system without him, the better for all of us.

image source: mirror.co.uk

Last player who should definitely leave is Maroune Fellaini. His hair alone qualifies him to be on this list. We all love to hate him and I’m not shying away from that. He never fit in from day one and hasn’t done enough to impress the fans. LVG didn’t know how best to use him and I’m not sure Jose has figured out either. He has had a few decent games this season, but that won’t get him off the list.

Notable mentions: Mike seems to have returned to his old self, Chris. Depay has lost all the confidence he ever had and Morgan’s days are definitely numbered.

There’s a definitely a lot of rebuilding to do at United, maybe it’s time to look inside rather than out.

P.S: I wrote this before United started this mini unbeaten run and Jones and Rojo started looking like rock solid defenders. I’m still not convinced though, let’s see how they hold up for the rest of season.

--

--