Photo by Thomas Lefebvre https://unsplash.com/@imthebear

Getting a Job in New Zealand: A Filipino Millennial’s Perspective

Lance Navarro
TheMillennialOFW
3 min readAug 3, 2016

--

“Is it easy to get a job there?”

Throughout my stay here, I’ve had peers ask me different variations of this same question.

And, to be honest, I really think it boils down to who you know.

Sure, it helps to have a bit of work experience here and there. And no, the school where you graduated from doesn’t really matter. Without knowing the right people, you’d just be another name in the endless list of skilled locals and migrants looking to get the same job.

To be clear, I’m not talking about the odd jobs you could take just to get by. There’s plenty of openings for store clerks, cleaners, and dishwashers. I’m talking about the “dream job” you’ve been planning out getting as soon as you land from the airplane.

Sorry, but it doesn’t work that way.

Getting a job in New Zealand (or in another country) usually means starting over from scratch. I’ve heard stories of certified doctors and engineers who ended up watching over cars at a parking lot just because they didn’t meet the qualifications New Zealand requires for skilled roles.

Forget about all the accolades, experience, and reputation you’ve built working in the Philippines (or wherever you are from). When you move to another country, you become just another face amongst the throng of immigrants who’ve risked everything just for a chance to start anew.

To stand out, I started out doing volunteer work for a non-profit while I studied for a boring and unimpressive business course. I got a bit of money for my time, but it definitely wasn’t enough to cover my living expenses. What I did get (and a lot if it) was a bunch of opportunities I wouldn’t be able to come across working as a cashier for Burger King.

I also went to a bunch of networking events on my free time. Most of these I found out from Meetup.com. It’s a cool site that features groups interested in doing all sorts of cool things such as social media, writing, languages, video gaming, sailing, Bitcoin mining, and other cool stuff. Most of the events featured on these groups are free as well (or come with a reasonable entry fee).

When I was nearing the month of my graduation (and the end of my student visa), I started sending out CVs to the popular New Zealand job sites: Seek and Student Job Search. While I did get a couple of interviews for 3 months work of non-stop CV-sending, none of them gave me the job that I currently have now.

What gave me the job was a random Facebook message from a friend who I met at a Meetup way back when I was still just settling in New Zealand.

Increasing your odds of getting a real job (and the sponsorship you need to stay abroad longer) means being smart with how you use your time. Sure, working as a cashier at a fast food restaurant would give you enough money to cover your living expenses. But, it won’t give you the connections you need to stay longer once you get closer to the expiration date of your visa.

Interested in knowing more about what it’s like living in New Zealand? Check out my other blog posts:

  1. Misconceptions Filipino Millenials Have About Living Abroad
  2. Moving to New Zealand: Salaries, living expenses, and other useful information

--

--