Amazon rules the retail universe because we let it

There are few buying decisions it doesn’t influence

Lance Ulanoff
4 min readJul 17, 2022
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

After almost 30 years of operation, my trusty Emerson Quiet Cool dehumidifier was doing performative art, running but not actually sucking moisture out of the air. It was time to buy a new one.

We have an appliance store less than a mile away from my home, which is why, instead of firing up Amazon to search for new units, I headed out with credit card in hand. The plan was to get one for between $250 and $300. Granted, I had no idea what these precious units that could turn a dank basement into a livable one sold for anymore. Under threat of having to wear Crocs in public, I could not tell you what I paid for my apparently classic and now junked unit.

At the store, I circled six times in search of the wall of dehumidifiers. One, I was shocked that a salesperson hadn't descended on me (they usually catch me mid-stride into the store), and two, where the hell was all the dehumidifiers? I finally wandered up to customer service, which prompted a salesperson to gallop over to my side asking if I needed help.

I asked if they still sold dehumidifiers and he looked at me incredulously. “Of course, we do,” he smiled as he steered me back to a collection of air conditioners and fans I’d circled repeatedly…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.