Apple’s iPhone 12 mini’s Battery Life is Amazing

My day with the small, but powerful new phone

Lance Ulanoff
6 min readDec 14, 2020
Holding Apple’s iPhone 12 mini

I’m the Goldilocks of iPhone customers. I don’t want the iPhone 12 Pro Max because the 6.7-inch screen and body is too much for me and my pants pocket — its clean, curved body always poking out over the top of my pocket edge. Similarly, I’ve steered clear of the smaller phones like the iPhone 12 mini, mostly because I’ve been spoiled by the just-right, mid-sized iPhone 11 Pro and now its successor, the 6.1-inch iPhone 12 Pro.

My fascination with mid-sized phones (a decade ago they would’ve been considered “big-screen” phones) is a relatively new phenomenon. I carried the tiny iPhone 4s with its 3.5-inch screen for years. The extra half-inch I got on the iPhone 5s a little later seemed like a big deal. Now, we think nothing of carrying 6-inch-plus displays and, thanks to edge-to-edge screen technology, it’s possible to carry a near 7-inch iPhone without the body being almost comically large.

The trend is to go big and it was easy for me to dismiss the adorable iPhone 12 mini, especially because it only has two cameras: the wide and 120-degree ultra-wide (you need to go Pro to get the optical zoom lens).

--

--

Lance Ulanoff

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.