I let Owl dash cam watch a hopeless place…my car

Lance Ulanoff
7 min readMar 30, 2018

Not much goes on inside or outside my car. Nobody is trying to break in (fortunately), no one is side-swiping my car on the street (yay!), nothing eye-popping happens on the highway in front of me and there are no surprise meteors streaking across the sky.

But at least my car is safe.

This is what I learned after driving around with the new $299 Owl car security camera (basically a dash cam) for a few weeks. As the name suggests, it’s a small, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and LTE-enabled in-car security cam with a 720p camera that watches the interior of your car and a 1440p camera looking out through the front windshield. The tiny, 2.4-inch screen shows you a constant, split-screen view of both. It has motion sensors to detect someone tapping, or bumping your car, a light that turns on if someone gets inside and geofencing through the connected iPhone app to detect when it is you getting into your car. There’s also built-in GPS to help you geo-locate your clips and temperature sensors.

I’ve never had anything quite like it in my 2014 Mazda 6, but was excited about just what the Owl cam might capture overnight and as I drove around New York.

Getting Started

Installation was not as easy as Owl promised, but also not a huge pain. The first, and toughest step is…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.