iOS 14 Is Great. Deal With It

Now that I’m using iOS 14 full-time, I’m appreciating it more and paying the price for my pleasure

Lance Ulanoff
The Startup

--

I’d stumbled into the platform holy wars.

Even though I’d been testing and playing with Apple’s iOS 14 update betas for months, I hadn’t offered much public commentary on the good, bad, or indifferent of the new iPhone operating system. In hindsight, I probably needn’t have waited so long. From the very first beta, iOS 14 was one of Apple’s most stable platform releases and I was confidentially running it on a phone that I could use every day, though it was not my primary phone.

In any case, on release day, I downloaded iOS 14 on my primary iPhone, which gave me a chance to experience the OS anew. The great thing about it is, if you want to live in a familiar iOS 13 world, you kind of can. iOS 14 doesn’t force a lot of changes on the user up front but, if you choose, it can be one of the most significant cosmetic and functional updates in years.

I know, I keep digressing. Sorry, I’m just a little shell-shocked.

Going full iOS

As I was setting up my primary iPhone with a final iOS 14 release, I set about adding the new home screen widgets by pressing and holding on the home screen until a “+”…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff
The Startup

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.