Lockly Vision Is an Effective, If Ugly, Smart Lock

If you want access variety, this smart lock has you covered

Lance Ulanoff
9 min readAug 18, 2020

Bit by bit, I’ve increased the intelligence quotient of my home, and done it in a pretty cavalier style. I swapped my analog thermostats for Nests, my mechanical sprinkler control box for a Rachio, my doorbell for a Nest cams (that still has a doorbell) and some of my outlets for automated smart plugs.

Changing out my dead bolt, the literal key to my home, though, was different. I held off for years because I worried about over-complicating what should be the simplest of tasks: opening my front door.

Then Lockly came knocking. I’d met with the company more than a year ago, shortly after it launched its original digital smart lock at CES 2019. Now, the company had a new model that paired its trademark randomized login-code screen with a video doorbell, and they suggested I give it a test run. I decided I’d been putting off the inevitable for long enough and, overcoming my fears, agreed to replace my analog deadbolt with the battery-powered, Wi-Fi-connected Lockly Vision ($399.99).

The front and back of the lock. Notice the large touch screen.

--

--

Lance Ulanoff

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.