My call with a Fake Apple Support scam artist

I purposely fell for this scam so you don’t have to

Lance Ulanoff
6 min readMay 15, 2018

Stop me if you’ve heard this before.

It was, no exaggeration, the sixth call on my landline(!) in two hours. Each time, “Molly’s” soothing voice informed there was “a breach in my Apple iCloud account.” The recording recommended I hit “1” to talk to a “support adviser.”

The first few times I got this call, I hung up. The third time, I hit “1” and when the support adviser with a thick Indian accent got on the line asking how he could help, I told him I wasn’t sure, adding, “I was responding to a call you made to me.” He quickly hung up.

For some reason, this did not deter them, and they called again and again. Finally, I decided to play along.

I waited patiently until a support adviser joined the line. He told me the support alert originated from “Apple’s Automated Server,” which had identified a breach or compromise of my iCloud account.

To help me, the support adviser told me, he’d have to investigate my systems and account.

Obviously, I knew he had no interest in helping me and every interest in accessing my personal info. I wanted to know how he planned to do this and, within reason, to get as close to his end-game as possible…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.