Samsung Galaxy Note 9 is everything you want Android to be, except affordable

Even with the price, this is now my favorite Android handset

Lance Ulanoff
12 min readAug 14, 2018
With the Samsung Galaxy Note 9, it helps to have a big hand

Samsung’s Galaxy Note 9 is big, thick, heavy, and currently my favorite Android phone of all time.

I’ve fallen in love with the giant, 6.4-inch Super AMOLED screen, which I now blame for turning me into a Fortnite addict (Yes, I once came in 4th place. Yay me.)

I’ve been using my fingers on the iPhone for over a decade, but enjoy having ready access to a smart stylus, the S Pen, which is as good a drawing implement as it is a remote control.

I will never truly love Samsung’s penchant for over-saturated colors, but I still found much to love about the Note9’s 12 MP dual camera system.

And even though the Geekbench numbers show the Snapdragon 845 lagging behind Apple’s A11 Bionic, there’s virtually no evidence of it in the smartphone’s operation. It’s a beast and a workhorse and I know that I’ll be sad when it’s time to return it.

Of course, I’m getting ahead of myself here. Let’s start over with the Samsung Galaxy Note 9’s design.

Exquisite Slab

Though some may consider Samsung’s largest Android phone its flagship device, the…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.