Saying No to Twitter Fleets

I have enough stories in my life

Lance Ulanoff
3 min readNov 17, 2020
Photo by 🇨🇭 Claudio Schwarz | @purzlbaum on Unsplash

Is it wrong to say I’m tired of things evolving? Maybe it’s because the more things change they more they become like everything else.

Since I joined Twitter back in 2007, I’ve appreciated its simplicity. Sure, Twitter has changed from its early, SMS-only days, first finding clever ways to squeeze more information into tweets like clowns in an impossibly small car. When the doors burst open, Twitter finally expanded to the more expansive 280 characters. Over time, we got videos, GIFs, and threads that that could spool out endless Twitter thoughts (this one is 1/12).

Despite these changes, Twitter’s remained, fundamentally, true to its microblogging heritage. Yes, that’s what we called Twitter in the early days, “A micro blog” service, which meant blog-like missives in brief.

Now, I admit to occasionally watching streaming video through Twitter. I’ve seen political speeches, musical performances, unboxings, and, most recently the Crew Dragon Resilience dock with the ISS. But that represents a mere fraction of my time on the service. I’m 70% tweet consumption and 30% creation. During live tweets of tech launch events, it switches to 90% creation, 10% consumption. Almost all of this is me reading or writing, not building rich multimedia experiences.

--

--

Lance Ulanoff

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.