When you get schooled by Apple

Lance Ulanoff
7 min readMar 28, 2018

Inside Apple’s Chicago event and its plan to win back the education market

Apple CEO Tim Cook makes Apple’s case for your Education Business

When I was 9, my school’s music teacher asked us fourth-graders to pick out which instruments we wanted to play. I immediately said “trumpet,” but by the time I got to the cabinet once overflowing with chrome and brass, all that was left were baritones (they’re like tubas, but less ironic). I was disappointed and considered dropping music altogether, but the music teacher reminded me that getting the instrument I wanted wasn’t the point of their music education program, it was about teaching all of us how to read and play music.

Apple’s Greg Jozwiak introduced the new, but very familiar iPad 9.7-inch.

Put simply, my disappointment was not her problem. I was reminded of that Tuesday as I roamed the Hogwarts-worthy halls of Lane Tech College Prep High School, a magnet school in Chicago, Illinois, where, earlier that day, Apple had spent the better part of an hour revealing a relatively minor iPad update and spelling out its increasingly aggressive education technology market strategy.

Did I hope for more than a more powerful 9.7-inch tablet that now supports Apple Pencil and a lot of school focused applications and development and curriculum…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.