My Gluten Free Experience at Disney Springs

Leanna Lash
3 min readMay 8, 2017

--

This past week I took a mini-trip to Walt Disney World I decided to try out the updated Planet Hollywood Observatory restaurant and a desert store called Sprinkles at Disney Springs. I wasn’t just eating anything at these two food establishments, but their gluten free items. I’ve been gluten free for almost three years now and it has helped with my stomach pains and reducing my allergies/allergic reactions. However, finding good gluten free food is sometimes a challenge, especially at restaurants; but I’ve found my experiences at finding gluten free food at Disney to be pleasant in the past as long as you ask for their gluten free menu or to talk to the chef. Some restaurants you do need to call ahead to let the chef know, so you have more options, but if not they usually can accommodate you with a select few options.

Last Thursday I began my eating experience at Planet Hollywood Observatory. This was one of my favorite restaurants when I was younger and I have not eaten since I became gluten free or their new renovations. When I walked in it did seem the same at first, but the further I went into the restaurant I realized they took down a majority of the movie items from the ceiling and walls. They do still have a select few, but it’s just less cluttered. I must say I do miss the old atmosphere because it was more of a theme and something from my childhood, but I do see how they try to make it more of an observatory feel and more adult atmosphere. When I got my menu, I looked to see if they had any listed gluten free options, but they did not. However, they did have Vegan options listed. I asked the waitress to see a gluten free menu, but she said they do not have one; but that they would send the chef out and he could accommodate items on the menu, like hamburgers with gluten free buns. I talked to the chef and I decided to try their sirloin steak and gluten free steak fries. When I got my food, the steak was cooked and tasted great, but the steak fries were not what I expected. It looked like they cut the potato in half and served it. I had to ask for some butter and sour cream because it was dry and the ketchup bottle did not say gluten free on it. Once, I got the butter and sour cream it was easy to eat and was delicious to dip in.

After eating at Planet Hollywood Observatory, I needed to walk off some food before I was ready for dessert. Disney Springs has been updated and has new shops to explore and entertainment. I even noticed in my exploring that Disney Quest was open again, which is a must experience if you are visiting Disney and don’t want to sweat in the outside theme parks, but still want a less expensive Disney theme park experience with interactive video games. My favorite is the Pirates of the Caribbean ride, where you shoot cannons.

Once, I was done exploring Disney Springs and my stomach was ready I searched for the desert shop Sprinkles that I found had gluten free items, by googling on my cell. Walking up to the shop I was surprised to see a Cupcake ATM on the outside and pretty cupcake shop inside where you can watch cupcakes being made. Sprinkles does make more than just cupcakes, but that is what they are known for. Their two gluten free options were a red velvet cupcake and a chocolate chip cookie. Since, I’m not a hug red velvet fan I chose the chocolate chip cookie and it was the best gluten free cookie I have ever had. It was so good that the next day I went back and got a second one before I left Orlando. Unlike, most gluten free cookies that are crunchy, this was soft and tasted just like a regular cookie. If you visit Disney Springs then Sprinkles is a must stop for a great gluten free taste bud experience.

Overall, from my two-day trip I found these two food establishments to be a great way for gluten free visitors to experience at Walt Disney World.

--

--

Leanna Lash

UF Graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in Telecommunication. Join my journey and learn about media and designing a beautiful life. Tweets by @LeannaLash