Credit: Tony Alter.

Can black women and white women truly be friends?

Yes, but it’s more complicated than that.

3 min readMar 6, 2018

--

I’m fortunate to have several white women I consider my friends. I trust them. They get it — it being the racist obstacle course we black people navigate daily. They’re the ones who jump in at a moment’s notice to tell problematic white people why they’re problematic. They’re the ones who push back at their racist relatives at the risk of having no relationship with them. Fighting racism and white supremacy is paramount to them. They know it’s not okay to stand on the sidelines. They refuse to stay silent.

That’s the only type of white people I will ever call “friend.”

I want to speak directly to the white women who swear you have black female friends. Most of you have acquaintances, not friends. How do I know? If you’ve never sat down and talked to your black friend about how she navigates the world when racism and white supremacy are at every turn, you’re not her friend.

If you haven’t asked your friend what challenges she faces being a black woman in this country, ask yourself why. Perhaps you don’t care. Perhaps you think black people use the term “racism” too often. Perhaps you believe black people actually are treated equally. Whatever your reason, understand why you haven’t had that conversation with her even…

--

--

Lecia Michelle 📃

I'm a black woman, a writer, poet and activist. I hope to one day put my stories into a book. Twitter:@LeciaMichelle11