Juggling by Leonard Odlozilik

On juggling, happiness and finding the right person.

Leonard Odlozilik
2 min readMar 5, 2018

(I’m practicing juggling lately and while doing it I had interesting thoughts.)

How Do You Catch Happiness?

It’s like juggling.

If you have never learned juggling, you would probably think catching the balls is the most important and the most difficult part. And you would be wrong.

Catching the ball is dead simple. You put your palm in the trajectory of the ball and in the moment the ball touches your skin you close your fingers around it.

Throwing the balls though is a completely different story. You have to throw them in the right direction, to the right height, in the right moment. It’s about precision and timing. It’s about throwing the balls in a way that it looks nice. This is the part which takes lots of practice.

The same goes for anything you do in life. It is not about catching happiness, opportunities, finding love or reaching success. It is about precision and timing of anything you do. About throwing balls again and again. Catching the rewards of your efforts is effortless.

How do you find love? How do you find and attract the right person(s)?

You don’t have to worry about it at all. Just worry about who you are, who you want to be. The right persons will be attracted to you naturally. And you don’t need to worry about catching them, while the only thing you have to do is to close your fingers when they touch the skin of your palm.
It’s that simple.

The truth is I’m not writing this for you, but for me.

Even though I know this for years sometimes I forget. I tend to worry too much about the catching part. I have to keep reminding myself: It’s not about catching at all. I just need to be true to myself and continue practicing throwing the balls.

--

--