Meet our Fellows

--

The Lepage Center is delighted to announce its 2019–2020 History Communication Fellows: Keeley Tulio MA’20 and James Lyons BA’20. The Fellows will assist the Center in all the ways it communicates historical scholarship to various audiences, including events, social media, and the Web. Below, our fellows answer each other’s questions as a way of introduction.

History Communication Fellow Keeley Tulio

Name: Keeley Tulio

Hometown: Doylestown, Pennsylvania

Major: Master’s in History with a concentration in Public History

What brought you to Villanova?

I was searching for history graduate programs in the region, specifically those with concentrations in public history. Many people in my professional circles had gone to Villanova and told me about their experiences, particularly their courses in material culture. I had some material culture background from my undergraduate degree at St. Joseph’s University, and I wanted to take a class in it. Learning about the past and being able to apply it to the wealth of historical sites in the Philadelphia area was very exciting.

Why did you want to be a Fellow at the Lepage Center for History in the Public Interest?

I love public history, and I enjoy getting to speak about history with a variety of audiences in different settings. I worked in museums for the past couple of years, at the Museum of the American Revolution and at the Heritage Center of the Union League of Philadelphia. I really enjoyed speaking with history enthusiasts, learning from them or being able to show them a unique artifact. The Lepage Center also invites a wide diversity of viewpoints and perspectives into its programs. There is a big focus on collaboration, which, if I had to define public history in one word, that would be it. Collaboration is important to bringing history to diverse audiences, and the Lepage Center does a great job at making it a focal point.

What’s your 5-year plan? 10-year?

I’ve achieved a few things from my plan of several years ago, namely owning a car, pursuing a graduate degree, and having a dog. Over the long-term, I’d like to purchase a home, develop a career, and finish graduate school. I currently work part-time at the Union League of Philadelphia as a Collections’ Assistant. Upon graduation, I will transition into a full-time role as their archivist, which is very exciting.

Where do you see yourself living after graduation?

Initially, my best friend and I are traveling to Disneyworld and to New Orleans, stopping in Charleston on the way home. I don’t travel much, so I want to explore parts of the U.S. before I start my position at the Union League. Maybe one day in the future I would consider Washington, D.C. It’s expensive, but it has so much to see and do.

What do you do for fun?

I’m presently enrolled in a beginner’s circus aerials course, which I’ve been in for about two years. We do trapeze, ropes, silks, and other activities. It’s fun and a great workout. Also, my family is really into Pokemon GO. My mom plays it on her phone all the time; and I play it for her when I’m out and about. I like to catch all the Pokemons even though I’m terrible at remembering their names!

History Communication Fellow James Lyons

Name: James Lyons

Hometown: Silver Spring, Maryland

Major: History and Economics Major

What brought you to Villanova?

Rugby was the deciding factor, as different programs have different strengths. Initially, I wasn’t focused on Villanova. But when I began to look closer at the university, I found much that I liked. I liked the campus and I liked the community feel. I went to a small grade school and high school, and I wanted to go to a bigger school for college, but not a big state school that lacks that community feel Villanova has. And there is a strong rugby tradition here. We didn’t find out until after I got accepted, but my great-great-grandfather went to Villanova. He was in the first class of electrical engineers, and he played on the football team.

Why did you want to be a Fellow at the Lepage Center for History in the Public Interest?

I like the historically-informed conversations that the Lepage Center fosters, especially “Lunch @ Lepage.” When students who are not history majors — or faculty from other departments — join the discussion and offer different viewpoints, it is really interesting. I like that exchange of ideas, particularly from outside the discipline of history. Someone outside of History might have a new viewpoint that no one has yet brought to the table. I appreciate the efforts that the Lepage Center makes to get those people in the room, and the Center’s broader efforts to open the historical discussion to wide audiences. I want to help expand those conversations.

What’s your 5-year plan? 10-year?

I’m currently applying for a Fulbright grant to teach English in the Republic of Georgia. By the end of five years, I hope to have a Master’s degree. I’m exploring graduate programs in history as well as international studies programs based out of Washington, D.C. I’m not sure what I’ll be doing ten years from now. But I’ll still be playing rugby; that much I know.

Where do you see yourself living after graduation?

I always enjoy returning to D.C., as I love that city. I might stay in Philadelphia, as I love the Eagles and the Flyers. I could see myself in the Northwest, but I would be very far from my friends and family. Charleston is also an appealing city; that would be a fun short-term option.

What do you do for fun?

As mentioned earlier, I play a lot of rugby. Outside of school and rugby, I watch a lot of movies. I’ve seen every movie of the Marvel Cinematic Universe on its opening weekend. I also read Marvel comics, including the B-list heroes that don’t have their own movies. I read both Marvel and DC comics. I enjoy Marvel’s movies more, but I do like DC’s Young Justice show. Nova, Moon Knight, and Nightwing are a few of my favorite characters.

History Communication Fellows Keeley Tulio and James Lyons
Fellows Keeley Tulio and James Lyons will be with the Lepage Center throughout the 2019–2020 academic year.

Learn more about the people behind the Lepage Center on our website.

--

--

Lepage Center for History in the Public Interest

Bringing historical scholarship & historical perspective to bear on contemporary global issues. Proud part of Villanova University. http://lepage.villanova.edu