Story of an ice cream bar

Life Actually - Chai Kinda Girl
2 min readMar 12, 2022

--

Photo by shche_ team on Unsplash

One of my favorite things to do at 8:30 at night, when I am curled up on a comfy couch watching Family Feud, is to eat Haagen-Dazs’s Vanilla Chocolate Almond Ice Cream bar. I know you must be thinking what’s wrong with me! This girl is trying to lose weight, get in shape, but she is eating ice cream every night.

For people, who love to eat especially with sweets/dessert cravings, it is extremely difficult to get on a strict diet….without being frustrated about the whole process. I don’t want to get into that space where I am always “unhappy.” I want to be happy….as well as lose weight. Baby steps are what I am taking, enjoying the journey. I will get there….it might take me a little bit longer but it will help me stay there.

So coming back to the ice cream bar, I enjoy it because it is a time that my husband and I have with each other when our girls are not around. They are in their rooms watching their favorite show, we are in the family room either watching cricket match highlights or Family Feud. Anil gets the ice cream bar, he eats the top half while I finish the bottom half. We sometimes argue on who had the bigger half…ha ha….but it is the space that I enjoy. And if you look at it from a point of view of dieting or eating healthy, I have reduced the total calories of an ice cream bar by half. Plus I get to strengthen the bond with my husband and keep his calories in check as well. It’s a win-win situation.

So my point being…..Do not miss on great things just because you are on a strict diet (unless there are health issues involved). Make this journey a happy one by taking baby steps.

my body weight is going down….slowly & steadily….thanks to mindful eating and exercising.

--

--

Life Actually - Chai Kinda Girl

Life happens, Love happens, breakups happen, friends happen. The best thing is that we survive it all. Life Actually is a very interesting story. Write yours..