Misshapen Pearls

Jas
1 min readApr 16, 2020

--

I should be simple and plain.

I should excuse myself -

Apologetically raise a hand

And the eyebrows over

My widened eyes

And say

Forgive me

But give me a moment,

Should withdraw to another room

And undress my mind

Of its baroque ornaments,

Returning soon enough

That you don’t worry or wonder,

Should return with an unexaggerated urgency,

Now readied, and properly dressed

For the occasion

Should then say

As I’ve wished to

Tried to

But

Stumbled over

The trills

And the oblique counterpoint

Only to hear the then unheard but

Called-upon melody

Later, in solitude…

Should say

To you

Simply and plainly

Don’t you see

How I love you

How dearly I want

To give you my love

How you’re the sun in the sky

In the middle of the night

And the smattering of stars

Waiting patiently

Behind the garish glow

Of a diurnal oven

In the day -

Should tell you

All of that

Should tell you all of that

In a thousand ways

Endlessly

Should tell you

Everything

I’ve already

Been telling you

Endlessly

In a thousand ways.

--

--

Jas

I write poetry, play guitar, compose music, produce podcasts, drink gin, and wash my hands often.