HALLOWEEN CANDY LEFTOVERS

Lindsey Lewis Smithson
2 min readNov 14, 2017

--

The weeks after Halloween, but before Thanksgiving, are an absolute nightmare. I overbought our candy, plus my daughter is cute, so every fucking house in the neighborhood gave her a ton of candy. We ended Halloween with more candy than when we started. The problem here is my totally lack of self control; I am that guilty kid with a constant chocolate glaze on my face.

Staring down this beastly pile of candy I decided to do something useful with them-bake cookies! I dug through my books and opted for a vegan recipe to bastardize. Check out my version of the Vegan with a Vengeance Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe.

Halloween Candy Leftover Cookies

Ingredients

3/4 cup margarine (I like Smart Balance)
1/4 cup applesauce
1 1/4 cup sugar
1 TB molasses
1 TB vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups flour
1 Tb baking soda
1 Tb salt
1 1/2 cups chopped up chocolate halloween candy (if you want the cookies to be vegan then use vegan chocolates)

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350
  2. Take all that leftover Halloween Candy that you don’t want to be caught eating and chop it up. From experience I say avoid anything with a wafer, they just taste kind of gross when baked into something else.
  3. Cream together (in your stand mixer or with a wooden spoon and your ripped muscles) the margarine, applesauce and sugar. I use SmartBalance because cholesterol.
  4. Add in the molasses and the vanilla. I usually err on the side of more vanilla because I love it, but don’t over do. You’ll know if you’ve overdone if there is an alcohol burn. Save that for the weekend.
  5. Mix in all the dry ingredients until there are no dry patches.
  6. Mix in the halloween candy. The finer you’ve chopped the candies the easier it will be dispersed.
  7. Spoon onto a foiled cookie sheet.
  8. Bake for 8–10 minutes, or if you have my crap oven 10–15 minutes.

--

--