Satsuma Street, Soft-serve and storms.

Liz H
3 min readJun 19, 2022

Slow Sundays save sanity.

Clovelly Beach NSW- taken by me

Anyone who is a freelancer knows the trap of freelancing is that you end up working 24/7, and the weekends and evenings become a blur of work and home life.

For the past year, this has been my life, squeezing in work around covid lockdowns, homeschooling, moving across the country and trying to keep a hold of the tenuous grip I had on my sanity. I’m not the only one; the past few years have been a lot for everyone.

The weekends blur into busy but fun chaos with both kids home, squeezing in family things, chores and work. Not to mention writing epic to-do lists on Sunday night to ensure Monday could hit the ground running.

Freelancing never ends because you get stuck in the “I’ll just squeeze a bit in while I can”, or work somehow never seems to end because you work from home, so you’re now always at work. Weekends become squeezing work in around social stuff instead of relaxing re-charging weekends.

But the time Monday hit and both kids were safely dropped off at school, I was already done with the week. I’d be exhausted from a full-on week followed by a full-on weekend of work and stuck in a never-ending cycle.

You can imagine how productive my Mondays were…

--

--

Liz H

Writer | Copywriter | Drinker of far too much coffee | Writes about anything and everything.