Sensation

Jalyn Lovejoy
2 min readDec 23, 2014

Short Story

His Side: I was in a different bed, with a different body, and yet even hovering over her, I couldn’t stop my thoughts which drowned my mind. My nostrils kept filling with the scent of her hair and skin. Her skin, oh so lovely and soft, and porcelin as they wrapped around my neck. Her lips which took me in and took all of my pain away. I could never get rid of it. And even though she walked out, I still felt it all. The taste of her mouth, the sound of her voice, the feel of her hand, the look of her flustered face whenever she was embarrassed…I remembered it all. Even though I caused her to use her sense of movement to go in the opposite of directions. I didn’t realize when the last “I love you” would be the last.

Her Side: It was a different time, with a different person, in a different place. It was still a heart beat. Just not the one I was used to nor the body. The freckles on his back were no longer there and neither was the one near his eye which crinkled when he laughed. His scent was washed away. These hands were rougher, not as delicate. He didn’t know what I liked, and though he asked, I didn’t bother to answer. Because, it really wasn’t the same. I didn’t realize when the last “I love you” would be last.

Both: Some sensations weren’t meant to linger around for that long, but the ones that do, leave a mark. That’s why I should never have let that be the last “I love you” that I said.

--

--