The Dark Secret of Making Data More Influential and Actionable

Lori Lu
4 min readOct 20, 2021

In this blog, let’s skip all the fuzzy stuff around building a data-driven culture leveraging data analytics as Google tells you all. Instead, we’re going to take a journey to the dark side of data analytics.

“Soul Searching” Question to Ask Yourself:

Is your data analytics project ACTUALLY driving the changes for your business, more specifically, shaping people behaviour?

Before sharing my thoughts with you, here are three real stories that can transport you to the dark side of data analytics.

Leadership Metric: Once a Year

In a meeting room, seven C-suit leaders and senior managers were hearing an employee interview recording:

“When I first started working here as a fresh graduate, I felt passionate about everything I was doing…” he paused. “But this is my third year here. My manager talks to me once a year, sometimes, twice a year…” His expression had a touch of irritation and bitterness in it.

Wow!” someone made the sound with surprise.

Then he spoke with a completely calm voice, “It is okay, but it would be more helpful if I…

--

--