Wave Hi Manifesto

Lorie Driscoll
Wave Hi to Life
Published in
4 min readAug 31, 2017

--

Have you ever had somebody wave hi, but you weren’t quite sure they were waving to you, so you didn’t wave back?

Have you ever had somebody wave hi, but you weren’t quite sure they were waving to you, so you didn’t wave back?

One time, I caught myself doing just that in a crowd, at a concert. I didn’t wave back. Instead, I assumed somebody astounding was directly behind me, and I turned around to see who that might be. Somebody else who deserved a wave hello. Somebody else who had a special connection with the waver.

I used to think, “Who me? Nah, not me.” Now I think, “Why not me?” Maybe life itself is waving hi to me. Maybe life is happening for me and not just to me.

What if we had that perspective and applied it to our writing? Life itself is waving hi, vying for our attention amid the chaos, the myriad choices. Life itself is advocating for us, not scheming against us. Let us choose Life. Creativity. Love.

“The trouble is, we think we have time.” — Buddha

We feel like we’ll get it right next time. We’ll get up the guts next time. Next year will be a better year. The next job will be everything that the current one is not. The next relationship, the next workout. We’ll wave hi the next time somebody waves. We’ll participate.

--

--

Lorie Driscoll
Wave Hi to Life

ISFJ. Public radio listener. Introverted chatterbox. Find me at LorieDriscoll.com