Schwinn 230 Review

Louise B. Martin
4 min readMar 6, 2017

--

Schwinn 230 Recumbent Exercise Bike is sufficiently sturdy. The bike provides a lot of flexibility in programming — several programs to choose from, ability to select time, and other settings to personalize the exercise experience. The instructions were clear and comprehensive and it was easy to set up.

One of the best features is the built in fan; it’s great to be able to keep a little cooler when exercising. For those of us who like to read, there is a built in book holder and there are speakers if you want to use your iPod or connect your tablet and watch Netflix. All in all, I really like this bike.

Best ultimate indoor bike trainer bike stand guide

Schwinn 230 Recumbent Exercise Bike seems well built, fairly priced, has decent features including ample resistance levels, a variable speed fan, it’s assembly is easy, comfortable, very quiet, and ought to provide effective workouts for many years. Also Schwinn’s customer service is eager to help with issues.

Pausing a workout only works for 5 minutes or less, after which it shuts down, canceling the workout. Pedaling again after that wakes it up, but at that point you have to start a new workout.

Best ultimate indoor bike trainer bike stand guide

I contacted Schwinn to see if the timeout in the paused workout might be configurable, as my previous Schwinn bike would resume a paused workout after a much longer interruption. The support person I spoke to said that the full shutdown and ending a workout after a 5 minute pause is by design.

It’s common for me to be interrupted during a workout and resume a few minutes later. The console does keep a record of recent workouts and can show calories, time and distance, but due to poor design there’s no way to resume the previous workout. For me that’s a significant annoyance.

This thing is so quiet you will think it’s not on. The Seat is hard plastic, but comfortable. This bike is a joy to ride, whisper quiet, the fan is nice and the speakers play at a comfortable level for music or video watching. The programs are easy to get started on the machine, there are plenty of programs and levels to keep you busy for a while.

The fans are nice, work well, and don’t make an undue amount of noise. I find the rack that is provided for a book or tablet to be too high for me. I have an acrylic book rack that I hook to it to bring things down to a comfortable level for me so I’m not straining my neck. Regardless of which way I use the rack, part of the display is covered, which I don’t really care for, but I’ve never seen a design that worked any better.

The instructions were clear, assembly was easy and the controls are fairly intuitive. The Schwinn 230 Recumbent Exercise Bike performs flawlessly and is extremely quiet. The seat and back are quite comfortable, satisfying my desire for a more ergonomic ride and allows me to catch up on my reading while I burn off calories.

The programmed rides offer a nice variety as opposed to the much simpler equipment I used before. I have only had the bike in service a few weeks so I can’t speak to reliability but I am delighted with its performance to date.

This bike was incredibly easy to put together and has been a blast to use. Because of an ankle injury I sustained while performing high-impact exercises, I needed something with zero impact to help me get into shape.

The bike has helped me accomplish that goal. I can set the resistance according to my abilities and I don’t feel bad about starting out slow. In just a week, I went from one mile on the lowest setting to five miles on one setting above that, and I truly feel great!

The Schwinn 230 Recumbent Exercise Bike came well packaged. Item was easy to assemble, took about an hour. Instructions were easy to follow. The bike is extremely quiet and is very comfortable to use, though the seat does start to feel hard after about an hour.

My only complaint is the LCD screen doesn’t have an adjustable brightness in certain light situations the screen can be hard to see, and if you ride in the dark while watching TV impossible to see other that I would recommend…. Great buy for cost!

--

--