The Tony Marsh Method

Rebecca Vaughan
4 min readFeb 14, 2017

Changing the way you learn language could be the best thing you’ve ever done.

One of the things I love so much about teaching online is I get to travel the world from my armchair and meet many fascinating people from all over the world. I can have in-depth conversations with people I’d otherwise never have a chance to speak to. Most of the people I meet are students with wonderful life stories and inspiring reasons for learning English. But I also meet teachers. Incredible people who we can all learn from. One such teacher is Tony Marsh, a guy with a precise, effective teaching method with profound learning philosophies. He was kind enough to give an hour of his time to me in a Skype interview. Here’s what I learnt about him.

Tony has spent the last 10 years developing his method. It all started back in 2005 when he was working in the armed forces as an Arabic cryptologic linguist. He joined the DLI to learn Arabic but started to feel disillusioned by their methods. He soon began tutoring other disillusioned students.

While teaching, he noticed that people had too many misconceptions about learning. So he started to develop systems that would stop people focusing on the wrong things and get them using the language immediately. No questions. No Study. Just doing.

--

--

Rebecca Vaughan

I bring adventure to the mundane and isolated world of chronic illness.