The 12 Books I’ve Rated 5 Stars

My favourite 12 books out of the 67 I have ever read.

Lu Mar
10 min readMay 16, 2020

I use Goodreads to track all the books I read. At the moment I have read 67 books. Only 12 of them I have rated 5-stars.

Photo by Kimberly Farmer on Unsplash

My rating goes as follows:

  • 1 Star- Awful.
  • 2 Star- Fine.
  • 3 Star- Good.
  • 4 Star- Really Good.
  • 5 Star- Personally perfect.

This is in order of publication date, earliest to most recent. You’ll notice only one or two of these books are non-fiction, and you can read here why that is. This whole post will be spoiler-free too.

1. The Odyssey by Homer and Translated by Emily Wilson 8th Century BCE

Plot

Join Odysseus as he ends his journey to his home. But what is his home? Is it his wife and child? The island itself? The people? Odysseus has been away from home for 20 years after the Battle of Troy. After being rescued by the goddess Calypso, she keeps him trapped on her island, intent on keeping him as her lover. Despite this offer including immortality Odysseus is miserable, and Calypso is convinced to let him go. But Odysseus’ journey home is anything but simple. Join him and meet all the…

--

--

Lu Mar

English Literature and History Graduate living in Oxford and working in Motorsport Marketing. Contact me: lumarrim@gmail.com