Worldview and Intuition

Michael Okoro
6 min readJun 16, 2023

--

The reason why we will continually have issues and argument is because deep down underneath we do not share the same worldview. –Timothy Keller.

What came to your mind when you saw the title?

Oh! He’s here with the first meal for us. You rub your hands with an expectation of what your mind has pictured that this piece will encapsulate.

Well, let’s see your reaction once you’re done with the meal. Leave me a comment or feedback, will ya?

Let’s dig in.

I was listening to Timothy Keller’s ‘I Believe’ last week when the topic for this week’s piece came to my mind. Tim was a good father, and I am grateful for the content his voice shared forth. So, I created an outline with GPT and asked Bard for the definition of terms, but I had to stop myself midway to ask; why did these words pique my interest back then when I was listening to Tim?

I could have moved on to work with what I got from GPT and Bard but then it would taste off like a pot of spaghetti without any form of seasoning and yes, I did promise that this infinite cook-a-thon would be worth your plates and also be appealing to my conscience as the chef. So, I plugged my ears to listen to ‘I Believe’ again, and it is based on that coupled with the bits of info extracted from the GPT outline and Bard’s definition of terms that I write this.

Not entirely based, but I am sure you have an idea of what I mean.

What is your worldview?

Before you answer the question of what your worldview is, we must first get to know the meaning of the word itself.

image from Pinterest

What is a worldview?

Most people would say that worldview is the way we view reality. In essence, it is the set of beliefs and principles based upon a particular framework which we use to navigate our unique lives. Your worldview can be different from mine, and it is based on the fact that there is various set of beliefs and we as dynamic different beings are affiliated with different beliefs.

Our worldview affects the way that each of us sees the world, and it also affects the values that we uphold to be true: absolute or subjective. Also, our worldview affects the way that we act, react, and commune with our environment. I am sure you know that most of the good and bad things that we have experienced from the top echelons of society revolve around, to a certain degree, what they hold to be true (their worldview).

On the other hand, there’s Intuition. I-N-T-U-I-T-I-O-N.

There are times when I am invested in a project and at a particular point of progress, I hear a whisper that comes with a new frame and helps me to make a new decision concerning the project. There is no straightforward answer as to how intuition works but a few theories exist on how it kicks off as the sixth sense of the human mind. Some will say that it is a form of emotional intelligence and others might say that intuition is a form of pattern recognition.

Whether it is a form of emotional intelligence that involves our emotions or a form of pattern recognition which happens when one’s brain recognizes the pattern of an occurring event based on the stored pattern of a past similar or non-similar event, intuition is linked to our worldview.

Think of it as you read; How is my intuition (emotional intelligence or pattern recognition) linked to my worldview?

I don’t think your intuitive sense will 90% of the time suggest something that is completely outside of your belief system when you are about to make a decision. It might provide the suggestion, but I am sure your worldview will raise a red flag against it.

Also, in the scenario whereby you have a hunch of what is about to unfold to you or around you… Michael heaves a sigh. Your hunch will either be positive or negative depending, to an extent, on what you’ve formed your worldview to be.

Image from Pinterest

Why am I writing this, of what value is it to you?

The dichotomy that we tend to see in different areas, organizations, and gatherings is because the bodies involved are made up of different worldviews such that each one of them presents mutually exclusive perspectives.

I know, right?

You will find yourself in a place where two separate individuals are contending for something and one of the party is saying something absurd and the other individual hits the maker of the absurd statement on his/her face. What is the reason for the actions from both ends?

Worldview and intuition? Yes, a big yes.

Truth is, intuition can in a way change our worldview. The world and everything within it is changing. From time to time, modifications happen to worldviews and this is based on the coherency and absoluteness of your belief system.

Am I heading towards the point of advocating or suggesting my worldview to you?

Nah, that’s so far from it but I must say that you should frame or reframe your worldview to be based on a belief or principle that is absolute because imagine a point where times change and it causes your worldview to change because the belief it was based on has gone extinct.

You’d have to pick up new blocks and frame your mind around a new view which can take time to get accustomed to. I can break someone down mentally by showing them the frailty of their worldview and my actions can sometimes be instigated by the hunch from my sixth-sense.

Now, what is the point of the 958 words that you have read before this line?

Let’s cite something practical. You know Elon Musk, yes?
Elon is one of the big guys in the world and he has his views on different matters which drives the things he says and the actions he takes. Elon, according to the info I got, has a worldview that supports universal basic income, freedom of speech, and gun rights among other things that he has gotten himself involved with. His support for free speech is one of the reasons why he acquired the bird app, Twitter.

So you see, Worldview.

Another case which has to do with gun rights is the scenario of the shooting that happened at Robb Elementary School. His stance on the case — limiting the sales of assault rifles –is towards the end of safeguarding the environment against the potential tyranny of government.

My summary is this: your worldview can either be harmful or not. Your hunch about a particular thing can also be wrong or right at any point in time. Senses can be manipulated and if you check historical facts, you will agree with me that there were times when people stood for something based on their belief system, but it turned out to be wrong.

Image from Pinterest

Now, the last spoon of the food before you get to tell me of the taste of the food.

I have served you the definition of worldview, intuition, and also the few things related to the way worldview can affect our actions. The public will always be at the mercy of the authority because the authority will answer to the needs of the public based on the deliberations they make which is solely based on their worldview (belief system). The same thing goes for how a father will treat and hold his kids. In a trading platform or competition, a trader or competitor will handle his trade, irrespective of the general trade knowledge, with his worldview and intuition concerning trade.

Did I make any valuable points? How does this food taste to you?

Coming up next is Worldview: Genders and Agenda. See you next week for the next dish.

--

--

Michael Okoro

Freelance writer who loves writing fiction and science-related articles. I am a fan of in-depth research and development, and I love my works.