How To Find Your Passion

Maha Khan
4 min readJun 10, 2024

--

After trying everything, I finally found my passion project and this is how you can too

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

When I was in 6th grade, I was looking for something to do as a side project other than my studies

So I started a YouTube channel. Because I had no serious goals, I uploaded a few videos and ghosted the channel.

Again in 7th grade, I wanted to do something. So I started making websites. In the start, I was quite enthusiastic about it and would make websites whenever I was free. But it was a few days of fever. Soon I got bored and left it

Again in 8th grade, I started a Pinterest account and gained more than 100 followers but since I was not too fond of it, I left it too.

Then came 9th grade, I had left all of those things and was just busy with my studies and routine.

During the summer vacations, I gave a try to write articles for the school magazine. And that’s when I found my true passion.

I started to like writing a lot! And this time, I was committed to it. I searched for information about being a good writer, what tools to use, which platform to write on, and everything else I needed to do. I always worked on finding room for improvement.

Now writing has become a part of me. I try to stay consistent and always try to improve my writing

So today I want to encourage you to find your passion too.

Passion and Hobby:

It's important to remember that hobbies and passions are two distinct concepts. A hobby is an activity you engage in for pleasure during your free time or when you're feeling bored. On the other hand, a passion is a goal that requires you to invest time and effort into improving your personal or professional life.

Steps to Discover Your Passion:

(I would recommend taking a notepad and noting them down as steps)

  1. Self-Reflection:
    Track what you do the whole day and the whole week. What are your activities other than your school/work? Where does most of your time go? Are you wasting your time somewhere that you can invest in something better?
  2. Exploring Interests:
    Now write down all the activities you enjoy. This can be painting, writing, analyzing, designing, crafting, sewing, social media, etc.
    Even if you don’t have any current activities, you can engage in different things to try them. As I mentioned earlier, I also found my passion after trying several things.
  3. Seeking Inspiration:
    If you can’t find any specific activity, just choose a field. Choose a field that matches your nature and personality. For example, if you like to spend time online, choose something in the digital field, if you like going outside, choose something related to sports or socializing, if you like spending time alone in silence choose meditation or calm activities

Overcoming Obstacles and Initial Struggles:

Most of you might already know what you want to do, but some obstacles may be stopping you from focusing on your passion. And some initial struggles you have to face.

1. Time:

The first obstacle you need to overcome to focus on your passion is time. Stop saying: “I don't have time” “My schedule is busy” or “I can’t find time for myself”.

If you have time to scroll, you have time for everything

Are you working 24/7? No. then how can you say that you don't have time? You have to take time out for your passion, for yourself.

The way I overcame this: Whenever I think of scrolling, instead of picking up the phone, I pick up my laptop or my notebook and start writing (my passion).
Moreover, you may not be able to work on the passion project at the exact time you designated (due to any sudden work) but whenever you find time throughout the day, work on it.

2. Practice and lots of effort:

After giving enough time to your work, the second thing you need to understand is no matter what your passion is, it will take a lot of effort initially and then a lot of practice to improve it. But it's a part of your journey.

Your first work might be trash but don't hesitate it's just the beginning, don't stop just keep going. After practising again and again you will notice that it's getting better.

How I dealt with it: I have written numerous articles, and not all of them were good. However, I did not stop writing; instead, I improved them and published the best ones. After writing almost 20 articles, I was able to produce 7-8 best articles. I am still practicing to make them even better.

3. Learn, don't copy:

There is a huge difference between “learning from others” and “copying others”. You have to learn something you don't know, practice, have your ideas, and make your unique work. Not copy-pasting from one place to another. Copying also includes copying from AI.

Take a look at other’s work, notice what you are doing wrong, what makes their work look good, how they manage everything, which resources they use, etc.

Be original, be unique, be valuable.

The Journey of Building Your Passion:

Building your passion is not a one-day process. It is going to be a long journey that requires time, effort, and dedication. Initially, you might struggle to identify your true passion. Once you discover what truly excites you, setting up and starting will demand considerable effort. The early stages might be filled with challenges and setbacks, your initial work may not be as impressive as others, and that’s perfectly normal. All you require will be consistency and practice. As you invest time and effort, you will gradually improve, and what once seemed difficult will become a piece of cake.

Remember that every expert was once a beginner.

--

--

Maha Khan

A 10th-grade FBISE student who likes writing. My blogs are about teen life, school life, productivity, personal growth, and Pakistani board students.