Interview with Mr. Blake Burns

Macon County R-IV
4 min readDec 8, 2017

Tell us a little a bit about yourself.

Blake Burns (BB): I grew up in Brookfield, MO and currently reside there. I have one brother, Ryan and my parents are Jimmy and Vicky Burns. I also have one nephew, Emmett, who is 2. I’m also going to be an uncle again in February, which I’m excited for and love every minute of being an uncle. I started my college career at North Central Missouri College and received my AAT degree. After graduating from NCMC, I transferred to Northwest Missouri State University where I graduated with my B.S. in Mathematics Education. In my spare time, I enjoy running, playing and watching sports, traveling, and hanging out with my family and friends. This will be my third year teaching at Macon County R-IV. A couple interesting facts about me is that I am ambidextrous and have ran four half-marathons.

Please describe your roles here at Macon County R-IV.

BB: My roles at Macon County R-IV include: 7th-12 grade math teacher, varsity boys basketball coach, varsity scholar bowl coach, math club sponsor, and junior class co-sponsor.

What is your favorite thing about working at Macon County R-IV

BB: The atmosphere at our school is very welcoming and supportive. We are like a family. Everyone is willing to help one another. I also love the small class sizes, in which it allows me to really get to know my students on a personal level along with helping them with their studies.

Describe one of your favorite memories of working here.

BB: I have had quite a few memories in my three year of teaching and it will be hard to narrow it down to one so I will briefly talk about a few. Last year, we played the last couple minutes of our basketball game against Atlanta with just two players (5 boys had already fouled out), to which we were able to score on our opponent. I won’t forget my Geometry class completing the mannequin challenge; that was a lot of fun to put together. One memory that stands out from my first year teaching was going to Worlds of Fun for senior trip, in which the seniors were able to talk me into riding a couple of the roller coasters that I would not have seen myself riding. Lastly, all of my students can testify of my wonderful artistic abilities.

What are you most proud of in your life?

BB: Most recently, I am proud of purchasing my first house. It was a very stressful and consuming experience, but was worth the wait.

If there was only one thing you could eat for the rest of your life…what would it be?

BB: I like a lot of different foods, especially mexican and italian foods. If I had to pick one, I would probably say lasagna. My mom makes the best lasagna.

If you could meet one person (dead or alive) who would it be and what would you want to say to them?

BB: I would say Coach Mike Krzyzewski “Coach K”. He is the coach of my favorite college basketball team, the Duke Blue Devils. He has been a role model of mine for quite some time. I’m intrigued to the conversations that we would have about basketball and the advice in general that he would give me.

If you could only keep five possessions, what would they be and why?

BB: First, I would say my cell phone because that is how I keep in touch with family and friends and also I have a lot of memories on my phone through all the pictures of vacations, family, friends, and special occasions. Next, would be my car because I love to travel and go places. Another possession would be my bed because I love to sleep. Also, I don’t think I could live without my dog, Duke, because after coming home from a hard day he is always there to pick me up. Lastly, I would say my TV because I love to watch my favorite sports teams play and my favorite TV shows.

BB: A perfect day would be relaxing at the beach with my family. Activities during the day would include: building sand castles, playing beach volleyball, surfing (or attempting to) or trying something new and adventurous. I would finish my day with my family eating dinner while overlooking the ocean and sunset.

--

--

Macon County R-IV

Here to showcase the students and teachers at Macon County R-IV School District