Analyzing 2021 NYC Arrest Data with Heatmaps

Amar
Apr 3, 2022

--

This data was interesting. I noticed there were some clusters in Manhattan. I analyzed different types of arrests to see what were the racial statistics as well as overall counts in the different types of arrests that occur in the city.

The data I used: https://data.cityofnewyork.us/Public-Safety/NYPD-Arrest-Data-Year-to-Date-/uip8-fykc

What I found:

zoomed in more
More zoom
I was curious what the elderly were up to (65+ age)
All arrests data racial breakdown

There is a lot to unpack with this data. There is a high skewness of the data in terms of racial distribution. Also, there are different clusters of activity for different types of arrests. Out of curiosity, I looked at the robbery arrests in more detail and realized I should be more careful walking around Times Square and midtown Manhattan in general.

--

--