British Composer Awards 2016 winners revealed

Composers Claudia Molitor, Tansy Davies and Mark Bowden are among the 76 percent of first-time winners at this year’s British Composer Awards.

Molitor won her first British Composer Award in the Sonic Art category for Sonorama — a sound compilation using music, interviews, readings and archival material to bring the journey from London St. Pancras to Margate to life.

Davies was awarded in the Stage Works category for Between Worlds, performed by English National Opera and set in the North Tower during 9/11.

Welsh composer, Bowden, also won his first award, in the Solo or Duo category, for a piece drawing on Italo Calvino’s Six Memos for the Next Millennium.

His resulting work, Five Memos, is a five-movement composition for violin and piano which premiered at Newbury Spring Festival.

Elsewhere, Simon Bainbridge and Jennifer Walshe were honoured with new Gift of BASCA Awards for Inspiration and Innovation respectively.

In total, 13 contemporary composers were honoured — 76 percent of them for the first time. See the full list of recipients below.

Of this year’s winners, four composers have been supported through the PRS for Music Foundation; John Webb, Tansy Davies, Jennifer Walshe and Joe Cutler.

The event, hosted by BBC Radio 3 presenters Sarah Walker and Andrew McGregor, took place at the British Film Institute (BFI) in London with a speech given by British composer and broadcaster Gerard McBurney.

The ceremony included a performance of Honeyed Words, performed by Anna Meredith (electronics) and Maddie Cutter (cello), from Meredith’s current, award-winning album, Varmints, to visuals designed by Laurene Pijulet.

The British Composer Awards are presented by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) and sponsored by PRS for Music. BBC Radio 3 will broadcast a programme dedicated to the ceremony on Hear and Now at 10pm on 10 December.

2016 winners

Amateur or Young Performers
 The Monster In The Maze by Jonathan Dove

Chamber Ensemble
 Freezywater by Leo Chadburn

 Ave Verum Corpus Re-Imagined by Roderick Williams

Community or Educational Project
 Into The Light by John Webb

Contemporary Jazz Composition
 Karembeu’s Guide To The Complete Defensive Midfielder by Joe Cutler

 Alba by Rebecca Saunders

Small Chamber
 A Day At The Spa by Oliver Leith

Solo or Duo
 Five Memos by Mark Bowden

Sonic Art
 Sonorama by Claudia Molitor

Stage Works
 Between Worlds by Tansy Davies

Wind Band or Brass Band
 Just A Vibration by Shri Sriram

2016 Gift of BASCA Award recipients:
 British Composer Award for Innovation Jennifer Walshe

British Composer Award for Inspiration
 Simon Bainbridge

Like what you read? Give M Magazine a round of applause.

From a quick cheer to a standing ovation, clap to show how much you enjoyed this story.