Falling Out In The Spirit Is An Out-of-the Body Experience

Mary
4 min readJan 21, 2024

I’ve had two experiences that could be defined as being reborn, according to the Pentecostal church I attended on a regular basis in my child/early adulthood. One is what I described in my last article (about Original Sin) and the other is “falling out in the Spirit.”

I was one of those kids that loved going to church! It was fun, everyone was really nice, the music was great (we had an orchestra that accompanied the accomplished Gospel singers and musicians that performed often) and everyone was happy! So different from my life at home.

Ironically, my love of the mystical started at the same time. I read every Steven King book and the like that I could get my hands. The way he so creatively described characters and scenes in the most horrific stories fired up my imagination and intrigued me. I didn’t have a negative opinion about it — it was just good and I enjoyed it. Besides reading classic literature for school, which I also enjoyed, I loved a good mystery too. Little did I know this curiosity and hobby would serve me well.

Falling out in the Spirit was common at my church. Some people were instantly healed of illnesses while others laid on the floor for as long as 20 minutes and then woke up shouting and praising the Lord.

I never thought too much about it because I didn’t understand it and at the time, God wasn’t something I needed to figure out yet. He just was and He was good. Like breathing air. Or like Steven King books, I…

--

--

Mary

I'm a writer who loves to share mystical experiences. If you do too, my book is available here: https://www.amazon.com/Neteru-How-We-All-Came/dp/B08VY76T8S