Self-driving car: Journey to build one

Mehdi Sqalli
SpotAngels
Published in
1 min readNov 6, 2016

I am the Co-Founder and CTO @Spot Angels. Our goal is to fix parking for today and tomorrow’s cars by building real-time parking maps (If you want to know more about it, please read the article my Co-Founder Hamza wrote).

I’ve always been fascinated by computer vision and its application. I worked on a Motion & Tracking software at my first startup 4 years ago. At Spot Angels, we use computer vision to build part of our maps. I am personally excited by the potential applications of all the imagery data we will collect from cars as they get more and more sensors.

Self-driving cars were the best way to keep learning and understand the current trend. I decided to join the first cohort of the self-driving car nanodegree @Udacity. I intend to follow this 9 month program during my free time. My goal is to learn how to build a self-driving car at the end of the program.

I wanted to share what I learn with our team. Everybody is curious to understand the technology behind self driving cars. I thought others might benefit from it so I decided to share this publicly.

List of publications so far:

I will be updating this post to list all the projects we worked on.

Stay tuned.

Thanks to Hamza for his feedback on this post.

--

--

Mehdi Sqalli
SpotAngels

Director of Engineering at Myria - Enthusiast builder - Sports fan