Of Magical Creatures. Part II

Magic Alchemy
2 min readMay 3, 2024

This information on newfound magical beings is compiled from the few surviving ancient records and supplemented by the research of Vitalius, a member of the Supreme Magical Council of the Academy of Ankorlan, and scholars of the Order of Truth Seekers. The ancient chronicles do not specify for what purposes magical creatures were kept. However, it is undeniable that they were all handheld familiars of the magicians and alchemists of the past.

Fangster

If you are a Future Fangster owner, you should not be frightened by its formidable mouth full of razor-sharp teeth. It isn’t easy to find a creature more kind and docile. Fangsters are extraordinarily docile and can be wonderfully trained. They are very attached to their owners.

The fantastic feature of the Fangsters is that they can eat (I would even say “devour”) any, even inedible, object that happens to be in their mouths. The surviving ancient records mention some “sub-parallel pocket space,” but unfortunately, we no longer know what it is. Experiments have shown that everything that Fangster ate disappeared in its mouth irretrievably. My advice: If you want to have such a familiar, hide everything valuable far away.

A partly crazy but rather progressive in its approach, an idea popped into my head: put a goblin, tied with a solid and long rope to a pole in the enclosure, in Fangster’s mouth, to explore this so-called “pocket dimension.”

To my most profound regret, there were no volunteers. That’s unfortunate. The very idea of such an experiment is intriguing. But it would be imprudent to go into Fangster’s mouth on my own. If my theory fails, science may lose an incredibly talented and dedicated scientist who spares no effort in serving it.

The Fangster’s physiology is also very unusual. The jaws comprise most of the body, yet the animal functions perfectly normally. For me, the magical nature of their appearance immediately becomes clear, as an ordinary creature would not be able to exist with such body proportions.

I was eager to perform an autopsy on one of the Fangsters to confirm my theory. Still, in a very aggressive manner, the goblins promised to turn me into a sheep if anything happened to their precious familiars.

I am undoubtedly ready to do a lot for the sake of science, but I did not dare to check in practice whether their threats were a joke. Besides, after this unpleasant conversation, a flock of sheep, which I had never seen before, began to graze near my laboratory. Coincidence? If so, it was definitely suspicious.

--

--

Magic Alchemy

Magic Alchemy is an enthralling free2earn browser game with its own DEX engine. The game will help beginners understand DeFi and immerse in crypto.