What I have learned with little to no paying

Mahtab Alam
2 min readApr 27, 2016

--

In this article, I want to list the skills I have learned with little to no paying, meaning any investment below $20.

Let’s begin with Photoshop and Illustrator, which was learned through YouTube and $40 investment in an online course.

Design:

I was introduced to Design in a high school course when I was in grade 10. Whenever I made websites using Joomla and Wordpress, I’d use photoshop and illustrator for my assets — logos and page art in particular. I started using Photoshop and Illustrator heavily when designing UIs for unpuzzled for the developers I had hired to develop the web app. A couple of Udemy courses helped me out with Photoshop UI&UX design. I am using these skills to start a Toronto-based Digital Agency that provides small-mid businesses with UI & UX strategy and design, along with development using the latest technologies and APIs (more on this later).

One of my UI Design produced in Adobe Photoshop CC
  • Adobe Photoshop (Skill Level: 8/10), Illustrator (6/10), and After Effects (4/10) for a total investment of $40 USD
  • Javascript ($100 USD), including Node.js, Express.js, Hapi.js, Angular.js, React.js
  • For Free was the countless hours I spent redoing exercises and reading about whatever topic I was learning about. The concepts I learned through online videos are reinforced by huge amount of hours invested in reading and practicing

More to follow soon…

--

--